The Review

Go down

The Review Empty The Review

Post by Luke on Tue 24 Jul 2012, 3:42 am

For those who haven't heard Maurice Watkins has unveiled a review of rugby govovernance. In which he has come up with 16 conclusions & recommendations, his key recommendations being:
- RFL board to remain independent and to keep leading the currant unified structure.
- RFL board to develop a new high lev vision/strategy for the sport.
- A revamp of the rugby league council to make it more effective/representative.
- More clarity for role/decision making of SL Europe.
- RFL to distribution the profits equally between clubs ( at the moment it's 60 SL/30 Championship/10 community).

At number 16 though will lead to another review by Nigel Woods, this into structure, licensing, promotion and relegation, and number of clubs in SL.
The full review is a available to download at :
http.www.therfl.co.UK//-rflmedia/doc/RFL_TheWatkinsReview.PDF
Sorry I don't know how to put links up.



Luke
Luke

Posts : 3917
Join date : 2011-03-16
Location : Wst Yorkshire

Back to top Go down

The Review Empty Re: The Review

Post by Luke on Tue 24 Jul 2012, 4:00 am

Now my views on the SL element are fairly simple, I don't believe in the GF, the champions of the league should be the table toppers who have battled hard to be top, not win some glorified cup competition. The number of clubs is just right, and P&L should return. And I
certainly don't agree with the franchise system. I know some people who agree, some who
don't.
Whatever is decided at the end of this review will be interesting, and should change the sport
we love, but the 3 main questions are in my opinion a
re. Will it changs for the better (not to agree with my opinions, just for the best for the sport)? Will the changes take us forward or set us back? And will it be for the benefit of RL, or for the benefit of chairmen, who are after all only interested in what's best for there clubs.
Luke
Luke

Posts : 3917
Join date : 2011-03-16
Location : Wst Yorkshire

Back to top Go down

The Review Empty Re: The Review

Post by George Hotel1895 on Tue 24 Jul 2012, 9:24 am

We will have to agree to disagree on this one tiger. I think the licencing system is our games best option, and i do not believe in P&R for the sake of it. You do need grounds to be of a certain standard, and also as well you do need a proper junior development programme in operation before yoy enter Super League not just start one when you gain entry to Super League.
For far to many years some were just left to rot and junior development was ignored by a majority of clubs. That hopefully is a thing of the past and now the game can push on and make its mark in the British sporting landscape.

George Hotel1895

Posts : 1735
Join date : 2011-04-27
Location : A place i call paradise

Back to top Go down

The Review Empty Re: The Review

Post by Luke on Tue 24 Jul 2012, 1:44 pm

I agree about the grounds,that they have improved was need. And though I miss the charm a few of the old grounds had, to evolve the sport into a family sport this had to change and generally has improved the game. The youth development part I also agree, though it is only recently that SL clubs are looking/using there own. And even then most are still looking to buy players rather than promote from within, which is one of the disappointment of the franchise system for me.
P&R is in my opinion need to a) freshen the league that has a tendency to go stale quite quickly at times b) give some meaning back to the point of having a table. C) stop clubs righting off season if they are near the bottom.
Luke
Luke

Posts : 3917
Join date : 2011-03-16
Location : Wst Yorkshire

Back to top Go down

The Review Empty Re: The Review

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum