The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A couple of rules Questions.

+4
Bob_the_Job
golfermartin
Davie
Caesar
8 posters

Go down

A couple of rules Questions. Empty A couple of rules Questions.

Post by Caesar Mon 14 Jul 2014, 8:58 am

Hi all,

I've been playing for just over two years now and a few rules issues arose yesterday that i wasn't sure on. Any help would be appreciated.

1. If my ball lands just off a Cart Path but my only stance is standing on the concrete of the path can I have a free drop? Or is it only if the ball itself is actually on the path?

2. If my ball sits right on the edge of the green am I permitted to place my marker on the fringe, right behind the ball and pick up the ball to clean and align it to the hole? Or am I only allowed to place my marker on the green?

Thanks

Caesar

Back to top Go down

A couple of rules Questions. Empty Re: A couple of rules Questions.

Post by Davie Mon 14 Jul 2014, 9:10 am

1. As long as the cart paths are covered in your local rules then yes you are entitled to relief if ball or stance are impeded

2. As long as your ball is on the green then it can be marked and lifted - even if the marker is off the green

Davie

Back to top Go down

Post by Caesar Mon 14 Jul 2014, 9:34 am

Thanks Davie.

Caesar

Back to top Go down

Post by golfermartin Mon 14 Jul 2014, 12:46 pm

Assuming that the cart path is artifically surfaced, it doesn't need to be mentioned in local rules, it is an obstruction under the rules of golf definitions and relief applies.

golfermartin

Back to top Go down

Post by Davie Mon 14 Jul 2014, 12:52 pm

Really? Never knew that! Always assumed as it seems to be mentioned in local rules that it was necessary to be in there - maybe clubs just put it in to remove all doubt

Davie

Back to top Go down

Post by Bob_the_Job Tue 15 Jul 2014, 1:47 pm