The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Is My Friend Right?

3 posters

Go down

Is My Friend Right? Empty Is My Friend Right?

Post by Azabache Tue 31 Mar - 17:01

1st April 2015

Hallo, I am new to cycling and would appreciate your help on a few things that bother me:

Which side should I mount a bike from? My friend says the left always-it’s the Law.
Which pedal should I push first? My friend says the right if you are right-handed.
Should hand signals be done in the rain?
Can you mix toe clips and “cleats” (whatever they are!)? My friend says that will help in heavy traffic to release one’s foot.
Or is it better to have conventional rubber pedals? My friend says that helps in a fall.
Is it better to pedal in high gears? My friend says he uses no. 5 most of the time as it saves the chain. He says the low gears (is this the small ring at the front?) are for females and must not be used by men.
Is it better to have the tyres on the soft side? My friend says that helps to deflect flints and things and if you do get a puncture it won’t go down so fast. He also says that it gives you more grip going up hills.
Should I change those top gear levers to ones further down? I believe they are called “downtubers”. My friend says they are more efficient because the cables are shorter.
Is it necessary to change brake blocks when the rubber wears down? My friend says that it is a well-known fact that metal-to-metal contact makes for stronger braking (like a train). Though I remember he had a front wheel collapse on him and the repair shop said the rim was “scored through” (whatever that is!) and had overheated.