Unpopular Opinions

Go down

Unpopular Opinions

Post by Gregers on Thu Sep 17, 2015 8:37 pm

Hi all,

I saw this idea on another forum and thought it would be a fun topic for the wrestling board

Basically a place to put up opinions that you have that would be seen as unpopular, the idea being to discuss these with each other and to have a bit of a laugh as well

To start off:

I think Bryan is massively overrated, he's good but he's not that good

I don't see the big attraction to Lesnar, he's just a big slightly unsafe worker who hits a very limited moveset in a match

Gregers

Posts : 15025
Join date : 2011-01-28
Age : 27
Location : Brighton, England

https://www.facebook.com/Gregers25

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Samo on Thu Sep 17, 2015 8:55 pm

I like Roman Reigns and think he should have beaten Lesnar clean at Mania.

The Undertakers streak was broken for nothing.

Samo

Posts : 3987
Join date : 2011-01-29

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Prometheus on Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:28 pm

I know you aren't meant to reply to these things, but I can't resist

Gregers wrote:
I think Bryan is massively overrated, he's good but he's not that good
I agree. About Daniel Bryan. Bryan Danielson meanwhile is a whole other argument

I don't see the big attraction to Lesnar, he's just a big slightly unsafe worker who hits a very limited moveset in a match
Same story as Bryan I think. WWE prefer their roster to work a small move set. The crowd know the 4 or 5 moves and pop to them. Look at Daniel Bryan in his earlier work and he is one of the most versatile wrestlers in the world. Then look at him even in his headlining days for WWE and you can practically call the match, but that's just how WWE book, rather than what the wrestler can bring. While he's been involved in a few injuries I keep hearing from wrestlers who are interviewed that Lesnar is really a safe worker.
avatar
Prometheus

Posts : 1689
Join date : 2011-02-10

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Samo on Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:32 pm

If Undertaker trusts him to throw his 54 year old carcass around a ring he cant be that unsafe a worker.

Samo

Posts : 3987
Join date : 2011-01-29

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Kay Fabe on Thu Sep 17, 2015 10:11 pm

Samo wrote:If Undertaker trusts him to throw his 54 year old carcass around a ring he cant be that unsafe a worker.


BOOM

Kay Fabe

Posts : 9681
Join date : 2011-03-16
Age : 35
Location : Glasgow

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Ché Guerrero on Fri Sep 18, 2015 1:57 am

The Bad News Barrett segments were never good largely because of Wade's terrible voice and that they tend to be too long

Ché Guerrero

Posts : 794
Join date : 2011-05-05
Age : 25
Location : Depends

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Dr Gregory House MD on Fri Sep 18, 2015 1:33 pm

Despite not being very good Impact is by and large less of a chore to watch than Raw and ROH TV

Dr Gregory House MD

Posts : 3433
Join date : 2011-01-30
Age : 26
Location : Dundee

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Adam D on Fri Sep 18, 2015 1:34 pm

Russo is a genius

that should cause the thread to implode!

Adam D
Founder
Founder

Posts : 23684
Join date : 2011-01-24
Age : 44
Location : Parts Unknown

http://www.v2journal.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Dr Gregory House MD on Fri Sep 18, 2015 1:37 pm

John Cena could be in the main event match of any promotion in the world

Samoa Joe has yet to fully deliver in WWE

and my personal fall back favourite

Y2J is overrated and is essentially a poor mans Christian

Dr Gregory House MD

Posts : 3433
Join date : 2011-01-30
Age : 26
Location : Dundee

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Dr Gregory House MD on Fri Sep 18, 2015 1:39 pm

Adam D wrote:Russo is a genius

that should cause the thread to implode!

She was great in Nightcrawler and Lethal Weapon

Dr Gregory House MD

Posts : 3433
Join date : 2011-01-30
Age : 26
Location : Dundee

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Dolphin Ziggler on Fri Sep 18, 2015 1:39 pm

Eddie Guerrero is no star.

Dolphin Ziggler
Dolphin
Dolphin

Posts : 20169
Join date : 2012-03-01
Age : 29

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Dr Gregory House MD on Fri Sep 18, 2015 1:51 pm

Rockstar Spud is the best underdog baby face in wrestling today

Dr Gregory House MD

Posts : 3433
Join date : 2011-01-30
Age : 26
Location : Dundee

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Dr Gregory House MD on Fri Sep 18, 2015 1:59 pm

Dolphin Ziggler wrote:Eddie Guerrero is no star.

Sasha Banks says he's the greatest of all time, your opinion is invalid #likeaboss

Dr Gregory House MD

Posts : 3433
Join date : 2011-01-30
Age : 26
Location : Dundee

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by TwisT on Fri Sep 18, 2015 2:19 pm

Not controversial enough.

I actually miss Chris Benoit and his wrestling work.

TwisT

Posts : 16447
Join date : 2011-05-23
Age : 33
Location : Kent

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by talkingpoint on Fri Sep 18, 2015 2:21 pm

John Cena is underrated by the IWC and deserves his success. He also should never turn heel and is right to remain a face the rest of his career. Glad to get that off my chest.

talkingpoint

Posts : 1605
Join date : 2011-02-20
Location : Essex Made Punk

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Dolphin Ziggler on Fri Sep 18, 2015 2:26 pm

Dr Gregory House MD wrote:
Dolphin Ziggler wrote:Eddie Guerrero is no star.

Sasha Banks says he's the greatest of all time, your opinion is invalid #likeaboss

I lost all respect for her after her four horsewoman moment of indulgence at the end of takeover.

Dolphin Ziggler
Dolphin
Dolphin

Posts : 20169
Join date : 2012-03-01
Age : 29

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by TwisT on Fri Sep 18, 2015 2:30 pm

talkingpoint wrote:John Cena is underrated by the IWC and deserves his success. He also should never turn heel and is right to remain a face the rest of his career. Glad to get that off my chest.

Yep, that trumps all. Only thing you need to add is his film work is also under rated and deserves an Oscar

TwisT

Posts : 16447
Join date : 2011-05-23
Age : 33
Location : Kent

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Paul Mac 6CW on Fri Sep 18, 2015 2:33 pm

Bray Wyatt's in ring ability does not back up his promos and this is holding back his development into becoming a real star

Paul Mac 6CW
6CW Creative

Posts : 6487
Join date : 2011-01-26
Age : 38
Location : Born in Surrey, live near Sunderland and work in London

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Brilliant_yep on Fri Sep 18, 2015 3:52 pm

I don't like 'heel psychology' antics like just working on a leg,makes no sense to me.

Dean Ambrose has regressed since becoming Dean Ambrose,although his muscles certainly haven't.

Brilliant_yep

Posts : 445
Join date : 2011-07-26

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Samo on Fri Sep 18, 2015 4:45 pm

Russo was a MAD genius. He needed someone like McMahon to tell him no once in a while and when he was left to it he killed WCW.

Rockstar Spud is terrible, to suggest otherwise is an afront to babyfaces everywhere.

Owen Hart is over rated more then Guerrero.

Samo

Posts : 3987
Join date : 2011-01-29

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Gregers on Fri Sep 18, 2015 5:38 pm

A few more from me

Punk is a poor man's Austin Aries and I never believes him as "the man"

Rock is/was/will always be better than Austin

Tyler Breeze is the best thing about nXt

Gregers

Posts : 15025
Join date : 2011-01-28
Age : 27
Location : Brighton, England

https://www.facebook.com/Gregers25

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Dr Gregory House MD on Fri Sep 18, 2015 10:51 pm

Samo wrote:

Rockstar Spud is terrible, to suggest otherwise is an afront to babyfaces everywhere.

Owen Hart is over rated more then Guerrero.

I can't describe how much I disagree, Spud is an excellent promo who I actually want to believe in and get behind, plus he's had the 2 best singles matches in TNA this year

I could be wrong but who's overrating Owen Hart? The guy was an excellent worker and had a bratty heel character than really worked for him, throw in his connection with Bret it made him a worthy upper midcard/lower main event heel in the early to mid 90s


Dr Gregory House MD

Posts : 3433
Join date : 2011-01-30
Age : 26
Location : Dundee

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Crimey on Sat Sep 19, 2015 9:02 am

Kevin Owens is good in the ring, but his look and mic work is massively overrated.

Dean Ambrose is the worst of the Shield.

Luke Harper is better than Bray Wyatt.


Crimey
Admin
Admin

Posts : 16397
Join date : 2011-02-14
Age : 24
Location : Galgate

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Marky on Sat Sep 19, 2015 9:32 am

Crimey wrote:Kevin Owens is good in the ring, but his look and mic work is massively overrated.

Think you're missing the point on Owens.

His look is rated because he doesn't fit the "standard" look, and can still make a successful career out of wrestling. Nobody says his look is as impressive as Randy Orton for example.

His mic work is incredibly impressive based on the fact English isn't even his first language.

There's unpopular opinions and then there's being wrong.

Marky

Posts : 26733
Join date : 2011-01-26
Age : 31
Location : Crawley, West Sussex

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Crimey on Sat Sep 19, 2015 12:22 pm

Marky wrote:
Crimey wrote:Kevin Owens is good in the ring, but his look and mic work is massively overrated.

Think you're missing the point on Owens.

His look is rated because he doesn't fit the "standard" look, and can still make a successful career out of wrestling. Nobody says his look is as impressive as Randy Orton for example.

His mic work is incredibly impressive based on the fact English isn't even his first language.

There's unpopular opinions and then there's being wrong.

I just think he looks silly, he's rotund, he's not just his big, he has a cartoon character physique. It's not that he needs to be ripped or slim or huge, it's just I feel like he's got a very unthreatening look. He doesn't look particularly tough, he looks more like a friendly bear.

I understand it's his second language and I do actually think you can tell, his delivery is just off to me. It always sounds really forced, and yes I couldn't do any better in French but I think he should still be held to the same standards. I think the difference is that with Cesaro or Rusev they are clearly speaking English as a second language, but Owens is just so slightly off.

I've said before that I would love to get Owens, I'd love to be as excited by him as everybody else, but I just can't get into him. I didn't understand the hype in NXT, I didn't understand the hype in his feud with Cena and now being paired with Ryback has really not helped.

Crimey
Admin
Admin

Posts : 16397
Join date : 2011-02-14
Age : 24
Location : Galgate

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by kingraf on Sat Sep 19, 2015 2:03 pm

I'm a Kevin Owens guy. I agree that he looks like a Teddy bear, but I think in some respect, that's part of the appeal. He isn't there to look good. He just wants to fight and get paid.

avatar
kingraf
raf
raf

Posts : 16097
Join date : 2012-06-06
Age : 23
Location : To you I am there. To me I am here.... is it possible that I'm everywhere?

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by talkingpoint on Sat Sep 19, 2015 2:06 pm

TwisT wrote:
talkingpoint wrote:John Cena is underrated by the IWC and deserves his success. He also should never turn heel and is right to remain a face the rest of his career. Glad to get that off my chest.

Yep, that trumps all. Only thing you need to add is his film work is also under rated and deserves an Oscar

What can I say, the inner child in me is a Cena mark.

talkingpoint

Posts : 1605
Join date : 2011-02-20
Location : Essex Made Punk

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Ché Guerrero on Sat Sep 19, 2015 2:48 pm

Punk leaving and Bryan's constant injuries have left Raw largely unwatchable

Ché Guerrero

Posts : 794
Join date : 2011-05-05
Age : 25
Location : Depends

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Luke on Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:40 am

- Nexus entrance on raw, was better than anything with regards Shield.

- Edge was the star of WWE from the mid 00's til his retirement.

- Christian should have got the CM Punk push instead.

- The Undertaker may have been 20-0, but other than the matches against Michaels 1, HHH 1, Edge & C M Punk. The rest were poor unentertaining events.

- The Royal Rumble is and always has been the best of the big 3 pay per views.

- Until his ego and WWE management attitude towards him, John Cena was entertaining and fun to watch.
avatar
Luke

Posts : 3412
Join date : 2011-03-16
Location : Wst Yorkshire

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Crimey on Sun Sep 20, 2015 10:09 am

tigerrobins wrote: Christian should have got the CM Punk push instead.

Christian didn't have anywhere near the charisma of Punk to have been able to pull that off. Christian had a decent angle with Orton around 2011, but was already past his peak. He was simply not believable as a top star unfortunately.

tigerrobins wrote:- The Undertaker may have been 20-0, but other than the matches against Michaels 1, HHH 1, Edge & C M Punk. The rest were poor unentertaining events.

I would agree that much of the Undertaker's streak matches have been poor, but think you're doing a disservice to good matches with Batista, the second Shawn Michaels match and the third Triple H match. Not to mention the fact that the Brock Lesnar/Undertaker was fascinating in terms of what happened.

tigerrobins wrote:- The Royal Rumble is and always has been the best of the big 3 pay per views.

Then you must have been watching different pay per views to me for the past five years. The Royal Rumble PPVs as a whole have been pretty poor, with some having few good matches. The Royal Rumble match itself has struggled for memorable moments for a while. It's relied on the one-off returns and rarely do we see a coherent story run through it. The last good Rumble winner was Edge in 2010 and even that was telegraphed by many. Wrestlemania has been much more consistently good and it's clear has more effort put into it. Summerslam has for me taken over the Royal Rumble now as well. The last few years have seen some fantastic matches and certainly memorable moments. Cena/Bryan and Lesnar/Punk at Summerslam 2013, Lesnar/Cena for one at Summerslam 2014 and then this year being good as well.

Crimey
Admin
Admin

Posts : 16397
Join date : 2011-02-14
Age : 24
Location : Galgate

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Dolphin Ziggler on Sun Sep 20, 2015 11:34 am

This isn't in rebuttal to your post, Tiger, but a long held opinion:

Christian was never that good. This includes my feeling that the Orton/Christian Smackdown feud was average at best.

Dolphin Ziggler
Dolphin
Dolphin

Posts : 20169
Join date : 2012-03-01
Age : 29

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Samo on Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:38 pm

I want to mirror the Christian point. Never good enough to be a top star, only got the title because Edge retired. Edge was head and shoulders above Christian in every department.

Hulk Hogan shouldnt have been Benoited.

Samo

Posts : 3987
Join date : 2011-01-29

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Brilliant_yep on Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:50 pm

I don't even think Benoit should have been Benoited.

Brilliant_yep

Posts : 445
Join date : 2011-07-26

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Samo on Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:29 pm

CM Punk was quite right to quit a job he was no longer enjoying.

Samo

Posts : 3987
Join date : 2011-01-29

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Guest on Sun Sep 20, 2015 10:26 pm

Kurt Angle is not a liability.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Ché Guerrero on Mon Sep 21, 2015 12:42 am

Yeah Hogan's recently revealed transgressions dont warrant being wiped from history by WWE.

Ché Guerrero

Posts : 794
Join date : 2011-05-05
Age : 25
Location : Depends

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Ché Guerrero on Mon Sep 21, 2015 12:46 am

Crowds that chant 'We are Awesome' can go collectively feck themselves

Ché Guerrero

Posts : 794
Join date : 2011-05-05
Age : 25
Location : Depends

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Luke on Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:09 am

Sorry Crimey, have been at work which is why it's taken so long to reply. I shall now attempt to defend my views (and probably fail, but hey ho).

With regards the Rumble, I think that the concept of it is better than anything else. If done properly (which I admit rarely happens), the fact that you could start 3/4 different feuds without taking the winners going for a belt into account from one match. Makes it the most exciting pay per view. I also feel that wrestlemania has become such a big thing, that it almost has nothing to do with the weekly product, were as the Royal rumble sets up the weekly shows for a while.
Though I do agree that recently it does seem to almost be forgotten about due to mania & Slam. At its best it set up 3 months of programs, that built up the excitement to Mania.

I didn't see Taker/Batista so will take your word that it was a decent match. The problem I have with Michaels 2, is that while there is no denying that the storyline was far better. The actual match just seemed to be about how much punishment Sean could take, and lacked the intensity of 1. Now to be fair, I do understand that the 1st was a fantastic match, and they had to go with something different, bit the angle they went with made it a poor match in my opinion.
The other matches you mention, I was bored of Taker/HHH by this match, and as you said yourself Lesnar was about the result, the match itself was not brilliant.

I accept that I was wrong with the Statement with regards Christian/Punk (more about the time than anything else), but I do feel that Christian had the skills, ability & ability with the mike (though I accept the criticism's of his charisma), to have been given a decent push at some time (though personally think he should have been a heel), and feel that he was underutilized by the WWE. I'm not saying he should have been a main eventer, but I feel that he should certainly have been a main stay in the next category down.
Trouble with naming someone in wrestling, is you either like them or don't. And this tends to colour people's opinions of them and there abilities (of which I'm as guilty as the next man).

Whilst not which to dired anything he did (and I loved some of his stuff), people tend to forget that CM Punk was not particularly well liked when he first appeared in WWE.
And it could be argued that if the fans hadn't taken against what was happening in WWE, and wanted anybody but the usual suspects, and that promo. His popularity wouldn't have been as high as it was.
avatar
Luke

Posts : 3412
Join date : 2011-03-16
Location : Wst Yorkshire

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Crimey on Mon Sep 21, 2015 11:19 am

I think Christian is good and agree that he was underutilized and could have been a decent guy to be in high profile feuds and occasionally challenge/hold world titles. However I don't think he was ever as good as CM Punk and certainly wouldn't have been able to be the main attraction as Punk often was.

I think you have to remember that when Punk first debuted, for a long time he was a very cookie-cutter face and so little of his own personality was allowed. The straight-edge persona was used really ham-fisted and he was too bland. Once he had the program with Jeff Hardy and then onto Straight Edge Society and then to the Voice of the Voiceless Punk showed real quality, charisma and the ability to be a star. I think Punk's popularity was definitely helped by the pipe-bomb, but I think through sheer force of personality, the moment WWE started giving him more freedom and creative choice he'd have been popular no matter what.

Crimey
Admin
Admin

Posts : 16397
Join date : 2011-02-14
Age : 24
Location : Galgate

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Crimey on Mon Sep 21, 2015 11:23 am

Samo wrote:Hulk Hogan shouldnt have been Benoited.

I don't think he will have been permanently. The news blew up in the US and whilst the whole ordeal was ongoing it makes perfect sense that WWE would want to distance themselves from him. I think in time it'll be forgotten, he might even make an appearance again. I feel like it was certainly a short-term protective measure rather than the permanence that Benoit's treatment is and was.

In addition the Benoit treatment for me is totally justified, he murdered his wife and child, I think it completely right that they should not laud a man for that. I understand being able to separate the man and his achievements in wrestling, I understand that he had serious mental issues, but I feel like to suggest WWE should talk Benoit up is ludicrous. WWE have handled the Benoit stuff over recent years with a lot of tact I feel, his matches are still available on the WWE Network, in documentaries they'll take the focus off of him, whilst not omitting him completely (as seen in the Monday Night Wars).

Crimey
Admin
Admin

Posts : 16397
Join date : 2011-02-14
Age : 24
Location : Galgate

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Samo on Mon Sep 21, 2015 11:48 am

I agree with Benoit. I try my best to seperate character from man but come on, he killed his wife and kid.

Samo

Posts : 3987
Join date : 2011-01-29

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Dr Shoe on Mon Sep 21, 2015 11:52 am

Steve Austin has outstayed his welcome by at least 10 years.

Bret Hart is the most over-rated talent ever. Boring on the mic and in the ring.

Dr Shoe
Dr Shoe
Dr Shoe

Posts : 94
Join date : 2015-07-24

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Crimey on Mon Sep 21, 2015 12:34 pm

Dr Shoe wrote:Steve Austin has outstayed his welcome by at least 10 years.

I would agree if he was on TV more often, I certainly think from around 2003-2007 he was totally unnecessary and a waste of time. However the limited appearances he has made and the Stone Cold podcast in the last couple of years has made me want more Stone Cold.

I'd like him to come back for one more program, I don't want him making random appearances without a story, I want to see him give one more go at being in a storyline and having a big match. It's a shame CM Punk isn't around as I think they would be perfectly matched.

Crimey
Admin
Admin

Posts : 16397
Join date : 2011-02-14
Age : 24
Location : Galgate

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Prometheus on Mon Sep 21, 2015 12:43 pm

I'm not referencing any particular posts here. But some of the wrestlers who people think are over-rated in the ring. I really wonder if we have watched the same product.
avatar
Prometheus

Posts : 1689
Join date : 2011-02-10

Back to top Go down

Re: Unpopular Opinions

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum