Phil Simmons asked to stand down as Windies coach for having an accurate opinion

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Phil Simmons asked to stand down as Windies coach for having an accurate opinion

Post by Good Golly I'm Olly on Mon 28 Sep 2015, 11:43 am

avatar
Good Golly I'm Olly

Posts : 43420
Join date : 2011-09-18
Age : 22
Location : Chris Woakes's wardrobe

Back to top Go down

Re: Phil Simmons asked to stand down as Windies coach for having an accurate opinion

Post by Good Golly I'm Olly on Mon 28 Sep 2015, 6:56 pm

Quite honestly I'm at the point where I'd rather see teams like Ireland or Afghanistan given full member status over West Indies.
avatar
Good Golly I'm Olly

Posts : 43420
Join date : 2011-09-18
Age : 22
Location : Chris Woakes's wardrobe

Back to top Go down

Re: Phil Simmons asked to stand down as Windies coach for having an accurate opinion

Post by KP_fan on Mon 28 Sep 2015, 10:07 pm

i have stated before umpteen times.....
WI are not a nation..and have no "national feeling".....the politics, frictions , fights and bickering between independent nations override team interest....

They have to break down into and compete in ICC tournament as independent nations and I am sure...one or two of them will emerge stronger than BD and Zim and may get full test status.

That is the inevitable end of WI and the faster it happens the better for the game



avatar
KP_fan

Posts : 6390
Join date : 2012-07-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Phil Simmons asked to stand down as Windies coach for having an accurate opinion

Post by msp83 on Tue 29 Sep 2015, 8:04 pm

Well, West Indies cricket has become a total joke. If they can't get it to function, then it is better to go their separate way, the present situation is just untenable and there is no point in delaying the obvious.......

msp83

Posts : 13402
Join date : 2011-05-30
Location : India

Back to top Go down

Re: Phil Simmons asked to stand down as Windies coach for having an accurate opinion

Post by guildfordbat on Wed 30 Sep 2015, 11:36 am

KP_fan wrote:i have stated before umpteen times.....
WI are not a nation..and have no "national feeling".....the politics, frictions , fights and bickering between independent nations override team interest....

They have to break down into and compete in ICC tournament as independent nations and I am sure...one or two of them will emerge stronger than BD and Zim and may get full test status.

That is the inevitable end of WI and the faster it happens the better for the game


KP_f, there's no dispute from me that West Indies cricket is in a shambolic state. However, hasn't the highlighted part of your post always been the case? In the '70s and '80's, Clive Lloyd did far more than hand the ball to four fast bowlers each match - he united differing factions and individuals and helped create the greatest team of that and arguably any era. Thus, whilst the future looks far from bright, I'm not sure it has to be as inevitable as you state.

guildfordbat

Posts : 11397
Join date : 2011-04-07

Back to top Go down

Re: Phil Simmons asked to stand down as Windies coach for having an accurate opinion

Post by KP_fan on Wed 30 Sep 2015, 11:47 am

That was in the past..... they were as United as they were and hence a riveted world beating  unit .....wasn't the norm but an inexplicable, miraculous exception.

Breaking news......any one surprised ?

"Bangladesh have sealed a berth in ICC Champions Trophy for the first time since 2006. The teams which sealed the top 8 slots on the ICC one-day international rankings on the 30 September 2015 cut-off date were confirmed for the 2017 tournament."

Bangladesh has replaced the West Indies, which finished outside the top eight in ninth position, according to ICC media release.
avatar
KP_fan

Posts : 6390
Join date : 2012-07-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Phil Simmons asked to stand down as Windies coach for having an accurate opinion

Post by guildfordbat on Wed 30 Sep 2015, 1:05 pm

KP_fan wrote:That was in the past..... they were as United as they were and hence a riveted world beating  unit .....wasn't the norm but an inexplicable, miraculous exception.

Breaking news......any one surprised ?

"Bangladesh have sealed a berth in ICC Champions Trophy for the first time since 2006. The teams which sealed the top 8 slots on the ICC one-day international rankings on the 30 September 2015 cut-off date were confirmed for the 2017 tournament."

Bangladesh has replaced the West Indies, which finished outside the top eight in ninth position, according to ICC media release.

KP_f, I wouldn't go so far as to say it was a ''miraculous exception'' but it was certainly a might fine achievement by Lloyd to bring unity to such a disparate group and one which is often overlooked when the achievements of that side are discussed.

The West Indies definitely and to a large extent deservedly find themselves in a very poor and dismal situation today. All the more sad for someone like me who watched, enjoyed and marvelled at their past triumphs.

guildfordbat

Posts : 11397
Join date : 2011-04-07

Back to top Go down

Re: Phil Simmons asked to stand down as Windies coach for having an accurate opinion

Post by shivfan on Sat 03 Oct 2015, 11:09 am

I would say that the success of the Clive Lloyd era was built around a fan-base that remembered the Federation experiment...as the countries were seeking independence, leaders of Caribbean nations tried to forge a West Indies Federation in the early 1960s. That foundered on national interests, and the individual countries went their own way. But a lot of people who grew up in the 1960s remembered with nostalgia the Federation, and the West Indies was a vestige of that dream.

Now, we have a new generation of Caribbean people for whom the Federation is a footnote in the history books. Young people are more interested in how their team will fare in the CPL T20 competition, than in the fortunes of the West Indies.

I agree with KP fan...the WICB shoudl be disbanded, and the individual countries should go it alone in the ICC.
avatar
shivfan

Posts : 464
Join date : 2011-01-27

http://www.cricket-match-special.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Phil Simmons asked to stand down as Windies coach for having an accurate opinion

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum