Quiz Thread

Page 8 of 10 Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next

Go down

Quiz Thread

Post by McLaren on Thu 25 Feb 2016, 12:30 pm

First topic message reminder :

I am sure the exists somewhere already but the idea is that you post quiz questions for the rest of us to tackle.


To get us going I will go for a gentle question from yesterdays pointless.

The concept of pointless is that the question is given to 100 people before the show, and each correct answer is accompanied by the number of people in the 100 test group who gave that answer.

The more obscure answer score lower points and are therefore better.


The question was,

Name any UK golfer who has represented Europe in the Ryder cup since 1979? Can anyone get a pointless answer. I will restrict this to one name per poster.


avatar
McLaren

Posts : 13064
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down


Re: Quiz Thread

Post by I'm never wrong on Thu 10 Mar 2016, 5:54 pm

I'll stop doing questions now. Shocked

I'm never wrong

Posts : 1786
Join date : 2011-05-26
Location : Just up the road, and turn right at the lights.

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by kwinigolfer on Thu 10 Mar 2016, 6:23 pm

Ah well, I'd never have thought of that!
Nice one!!

kwinigolfer

Posts : 24127
Join date : 2011-05-18
Location : Vermont

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by raycastleunited on Fri 11 Mar 2016, 11:58 am

I'm never wrong wrote:I think I better explain. Before Louis it was the only par 5 not to have been albatrossed. It then completed the best possible eclectic score (or ringer round as some Americans say) for the course.  All par 3's had been aced. All par 4's had been eagled, and 3/4 par 5's albatrossed. (That is, until someone aces a par 4.)

That's not right at all. I'm pretty sure Kim Jong Il had at least 2 hole in one's on the par 5s in his round of 21.

raycastleunited

Posts : 3103
Join date : 2011-03-22
Location : North London

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by I'm never wrong on Fri 11 Mar 2016, 12:21 pm

Apologies Ray. That one slipped through the net.

I'm never wrong

Posts : 1786
Join date : 2011-05-26
Location : Just up the road, and turn right at the lights.

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by 1GrumpyGolfer on Fri 11 Mar 2016, 12:28 pm

INW was using professional golfers as the basis Ray as opposed to Kim Jong Il who got bored because it was too easy.

1GrumpyGolfer

Posts : 3292
Join date : 2011-01-27
Location : Pennsylvania

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by kwinigolfer on Fri 11 Mar 2016, 1:36 pm

Along the lines, Grumps, of The Most Interesting Man In The World.
Did you see Dos Equis is retiring him? Stay thirsty my friend.

kwinigolfer

Posts : 24127
Join date : 2011-05-18
Location : Vermont

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by kwinigolfer on Tue 15 Mar 2016, 2:34 pm

I've already chalked up 9 x Top 25 finishes this season, 8 x Top 18's. Who am I?

kwinigolfer

Posts : 24127
Join date : 2011-05-18
Location : Vermont

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by SetupDeterminesTheMotion on Wed 16 Mar 2016, 10:08 am

There are the only 3 times you can pick up your ball (without penalty) & you're not allowed to clean it. Can you tell me the circumstances ?
avatar
SetupDeterminesTheMotion

Posts : 775
Join date : 2011-02-01
Location : Airdrie

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by I'm never wrong on Wed 16 Mar 2016, 11:07 am

I think one would be where your ball is so close to another players ball - who is away - that if they were to hit theirs, it would collide with yours. (Or interfere in some way).

I'm never wrong

Posts : 1786
Join date : 2011-05-26
Location : Just up the road, and turn right at the lights.

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by super_realist on Wed 16 Mar 2016, 11:10 am

If you need a drop in a bunker?

super_realist

Posts : 21852
Join date : 2011-01-29
Location : Edinburgh

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by McLaren on Wed 16 Mar 2016, 11:31 am

Not sure if they count but sometimes local rules surrounding preferred lies allow lift clean and place on the fairway and lift (no clean) and drop from plugged lies in the first cut of rough.
avatar
McLaren

Posts : 13064
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by raycastleunited on Wed 16 Mar 2016, 12:16 pm

SetupDeterminesTheMotion wrote:There are the only 3 times you can pick up your ball (without penalty) & you're not allowed to clean it. Can you tell me the circumstances ?

My guesses:
1. To identify it (if necessary you're allowed to clean a bit of the ball to enable you to identify it)
2. If you believe it may be damaged
3. If it interferes with another players shot (e.g. balls touching, interfering with stance or swing)

raycastleunited

Posts : 3103
Join date : 2011-03-22
Location : North London

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by super_realist on Wed 16 Mar 2016, 2:46 pm

Isn't the question where you CAN'T clean it?

super_realist

Posts : 21852
Join date : 2011-01-29
Location : Edinburgh

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by SetupDeterminesTheMotion on Wed 16 Mar 2016, 3:47 pm

raycastleunited wrote:
SetupDeterminesTheMotion wrote:There are the only 3 times you can pick up your ball (without penalty) & you're not allowed to clean it. Can you tell me the circumstances ?

My guesses:
1. To identify it (if necessary you're allowed to clean a bit of the ball to enable you to identify it)
2. If you believe it may be damaged
3. If it interferes with another players shot (e.g. balls touching, interfering with stance or swing)

Correct clap
avatar
SetupDeterminesTheMotion

Posts : 775
Join date : 2011-02-01
Location : Airdrie

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by raycastleunited on Wed 16 Mar 2016, 4:32 pm

That was off the top of my head so I'm feeling a bit more confident in my rules knowledge.

I always struggle to remember when you can drop within 2 clubs length and when it's 1.

raycastleunited

Posts : 3103
Join date : 2011-03-22
Location : North London

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by I'm never wrong on Wed 16 Mar 2016, 4:59 pm

raycastleunited wrote:I always struggle to remember when you can drop within 2 clubs length and when it's 1.
Don't quote me on this, but isn't always a good rule of thumb, to drop within 2 clubs for a penalty and one club for a free drop?

I'm never wrong

Posts : 1786
Join date : 2011-05-26
Location : Just up the road, and turn right at the lights.

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by kwinigolfer on Sun 27 Mar 2016, 11:51 am

If Rory wins his match against Jason Day, he will be up to 24 x WGC MatchPlay victories, behind only TW and tied with this man. Who????

kwinigolfer

Posts : 24127
Join date : 2011-05-18
Location : Vermont

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by I'm never wrong on Sun 27 Mar 2016, 12:23 pm

Saw this on the TV last night. David Toms.

I'm never wrong

Posts : 1786
Join date : 2011-05-26
Location : Just up the road, and turn right at the lights.

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by I'm never wrong on Sun 27 Mar 2016, 12:29 pm

Ok. A non golf question. Pop music. What was the popular misconception about Elton Johns "Song for Guy"?

I'm never wrong

Posts : 1786
Join date : 2011-05-26
Location : Just up the road, and turn right at the lights.

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by McLaren on Sun 27 Mar 2016, 12:30 pm

Kwini

Sky showed Mcilroy this stat when he was being interviewed at the Skycart™ , but my mind has gone blank. Someone with a better memory must be able to get this.

If I had to guess would go for David Toms.
avatar
McLaren

Posts : 13064
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by McLaren on Sun 27 Mar 2016, 12:31 pm

sorry crossed post.
avatar
McLaren

Posts : 13064
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by kwinigolfer on Sun 27 Mar 2016, 12:33 pm

Ground Control to David Toms clap clap clap clap Ale

kwinigolfer

Posts : 24127
Join date : 2011-05-18
Location : Vermont

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by pedro on Sun 27 Mar 2016, 5:59 pm

with the new round robin format guarateeing the player min. 3 matches I'm sure Tigers record will be beaten soon.

pedro

Posts : 5953
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by Davie on Mon 28 Mar 2016, 4:59 pm

I'm never wrong wrote:Ok. A non golf question. Pop music. What was the popular misconception about Elton Johns "Song for Guy"?

That it was about Guy the Gorilla when in fact it was about a motorcycle dispatch rider .. or vice versa?

Davie

Posts : 7526
Join date : 2011-01-27
Age : 57
Location : Berkshire

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by I'm never wrong on Mon 28 Mar 2016, 5:05 pm

Thank you Davie. Correct with the first part of your statement. A dispatch rider or member of staff.

I'm never wrong

Posts : 1786
Join date : 2011-05-26
Location : Just up the road, and turn right at the lights.

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by George1507 on Tue 29 Mar 2016, 8:39 am

I'm never wrong wrote:
raycastleunited wrote:I always struggle to remember when you can drop within 2 clubs length and when it's 1.
Don't quote me on this, but isn't always a good rule of thumb, to drop within 2 clubs for a penalty and one club for a free drop?

That's a good way to remember it.

I saw an interesting RoG question the other day. In what circumstance can you drop closer to the hole than your ball is lying?


George1507

Posts : 1234
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by raycastleunited on Tue 29 Mar 2016, 9:11 am

If you hit the ball further from the hole then where it lay you can always take stroke and distance. Eg if you miss a 4 foot putt and it rolls down a slope 30 yards off the green you can go back to the 4 foot putt

raycastleunited

Posts : 3103
Join date : 2011-03-22
Location : North London

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by I'm never wrong on Tue 29 Mar 2016, 9:22 am

If you need to take relief, and the only place to take it is nearer the hole?

I'm never wrong

Posts : 1786
Join date : 2011-05-26
Location : Just up the road, and turn right at the lights.

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by hend085 on Tue 29 Mar 2016, 9:53 am

drop zone?

hend085

Posts : 1000
Join date : 2011-06-17

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by George1507 on Tue 29 Mar 2016, 10:00 am

Yes, Raycastle basically has it. You can declare your ball unplayable any time and take the shot again. So, in his example, if it rolled off the green into trouble then you could add a penalty shot and take the putt again.

The more common example is when you hit a tree trunk and the ball hurtles backwards into a bush. You could mess around trying to find a place to drop behind or at the side of the bush, or just take the shot again from where you were.

George1507

Posts : 1234
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by raycastleunited on Tue 29 Mar 2016, 10:40 am

What if you hit the ball into the back of the green keeper's tractor and it drives off? You must be able to drop it closer!

raycastleunited

Posts : 3103
Join date : 2011-03-22
Location : North London

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by McLaren on Tue 29 Mar 2016, 11:12 am

You should be asked to leave the course for being so inconsiderate. People hitting anywhere near greenkeepers is one of the few things in golf I would be willing to label a disgrace.
avatar
McLaren

Posts : 13064
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by George1507 on Tue 29 Mar 2016, 4:05 pm

raycastleunited wrote:What if you hit the ball into the back of the green keeper's tractor and it drives off? You must be able to drop it closer!

Haha

For those of you who have played at Crieff, I remember seeing a guy slice one over the wall on the first (before it was 27 holes) and the ball bounced on the road, and then into a car through the open rear window. The passenger then chucked it back out over the wall near the tee, leaving everyone wondering what to do next. I think he played three off the tee with the same ball, which was the first time I'd ever seen that happen.

On the same hole I saw a guy hit his trolley with his drive, and it ricochetted over the wall and OB. He refused to believe his next shot was playing four....

George1507

Posts : 1234
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by raycastleunited on Wed 30 Mar 2016, 10:15 am

A long time ago I was playing at a course which had winter tee mats next to the ladies tee on every hole Friend of mine topped his drive and it caught the raised edge of the tee mat about 30 yards ahead of us, soared high into the air, over our heads and disappeared into the trees behind us. So he played 3 off the tee about 50 yeards ahead of where his orignal ball was.

I once suffered a similar, less disasterous, but more embarrassing fate. There's a hole on the back 9 at North Berwick (16th?) where you drive over a stone wall. I was trying to hit a low stinger under the wind, flushed it but it just caught the top of the wall, flew miles into the air and came down behind us on the previous hole (par 3 Redan?). Had to do the walk of shame, but the ball was lying ok and I'm prettty sure I walked off with bogey. laughing

raycastleunited

Posts : 3103
Join date : 2011-03-22
Location : North London

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by George1507 on Wed 30 Mar 2016, 10:54 am

I've hit the walls at NB quite a few times, but never on the 16th. Getting a five from where you were was excellent!

I hit a long drive on the third once, and it rolled for miles and came to rest about two feet short of the gap in the wall. It wasn't in line with the green though, so I was trying to hit a cutty one through the gap and back towards the green. I couldn't have been aiming properly though, because it caught the inside of the gap and then rolled about 80 yards to the middle of the green. In the same round on the 13th I managed to land my second shot on top of the wall, and it flew miles upwards and onto the bank at the back left of the green, from where it bounced, rolled and trickled its way back to about 10 feet from the pin.

No luck at all, me. Whistle

George1507

Posts : 1234
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by McLaren on Wed 30 Mar 2016, 11:48 am

Have to say the wall on 16 has never really entered my thoughts when hitting a shot. But on 3 I have been stuck behind the wall after superb drives on dry wind assisted days and after 2nd and 3rd shots on days when ball striking is an issue.


George

Did you hole the birdie putt on 13?

Where of course I have had many issues with the wall and blocked shots.
avatar
McLaren

Posts : 13064
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by George1507 on Wed 30 Mar 2016, 9:10 pm

Mac,

No I don't think I holed it.

I think it's a great hole, that 13th. Especially downwind - which it usually is - it's tempting to try to overpower it. Drive level with the green, chip over the wall and an easy birdie. But no, because the fairway tilts towards the wall and the ball ends up right next to the wall. So chip away from the wall, another over the wall, and the easy birdie is now a tough par. Or a bogey in all probability.

George1507

Posts : 1234
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by kwinigolfer on Fri 01 Apr 2016, 1:05 am

I am an American golfer with terrific individual records in Ryder Cup and Presidents Cup.

In losing causes I played five Ryder Cup matches, won 4, lost 1, including wins in both my singles.

In Presidents Cup play, I played nine matches, won 6, lost 2, halved 1.

Who am I?

kwinigolfer

Posts : 24127
Join date : 2011-05-18
Location : Vermont

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by Bob_the_Job on Fri 01 Apr 2016, 9:53 am

Do you carry an Eppy Pen?
Have you a passing resemblance to Matt Damon?
Are you Scott Verplank?
avatar
Bob_the_Job

Posts : 1344
Join date : 2011-02-09
Location : NI

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by golfermartin on Fri 01 Apr 2016, 11:09 am

If that's right, I'd've never got it!

golfermartin

Posts : 696
Join date : 2011-01-28
Age : 61
Location : Sidcup, Kent

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by kwinigolfer on Fri 01 Apr 2016, 11:17 am

Well done Bob, SCOTT VERPLANK it is! clap clap clap Ale Ale Ale

kwinigolfer

Posts : 24127
Join date : 2011-05-18
Location : Vermont

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by Bob_the_Job on Fri 01 Apr 2016, 11:27 am

Always liked watching Verplank play - something very calm and down to earth about him - always seemed quite humble.  I remember his hole in one in the RC too
avatar
Bob_the_Job

Posts : 1344
Join date : 2011-02-09
Location : NI

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by McLaren on Fri 01 Apr 2016, 11:44 am

Bob, now your turn to post a question.
avatar
McLaren

Posts : 13064
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by Bob_the_Job on Fri 01 Apr 2016, 12:12 pm

Ok - I like the whoami type of question, although this is probably too easy...

I've never made the cut in the PGA .... but I've played in the world cup twice.

I've only made the cut in the US Open once... but I jointly hold a significant record at the Open

Bonus hint to make it really easy:


I''m among an elite club of 4 in the Ryder Cup
avatar
Bob_the_Job

Posts : 1344
Join date : 2011-02-09
Location : NI

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by I'm never wrong on Fri 01 Apr 2016, 1:39 pm

Paul Lawrie?

I'm never wrong

Posts : 1786
Join date : 2011-05-26
Location : Just up the road, and turn right at the lights.

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by McLaren on Fri 01 Apr 2016, 1:41 pm

i thought Lawrie skipped playing in us open?
avatar
McLaren

Posts : 13064
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by kwinigolfer on Fri 01 Apr 2016, 1:44 pm

Wrong Paul?
Broadhurst??
Mr 63???

kwinigolfer

Posts : 24127
Join date : 2011-05-18
Location : Vermont

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by Bob_the_Job on Fri 01 Apr 2016, 2:32 pm

Bingo - well done Kwini Whisky - thought it might be too easy with the last clue
avatar
Bob_the_Job

Posts : 1344
Join date : 2011-02-09
Location : NI

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by kwinigolfer on Fri 01 Apr 2016, 2:48 pm

No, it was the guess of Paul Lawrie that triggered it, and the tied Open record.
Watched Broadhurst in his RC effort - if Langer had held on and Europe retained the cup, Broadhurst would have been as much a factor as anyone. Hope he enjoys a successful Senior career, seems a good man. thumbsup

kwinigolfer

Posts : 24127
Join date : 2011-05-18
Location : Vermont

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by kwinigolfer on Mon 04 Apr 2016, 8:52 am

Jim Herman won in Houston Sunday to earn a last gasp Masters invitation:

Who is the last British golfer to earn his trip to Augusta in similar fashion?

kwinigolfer

Posts : 24127
Join date : 2011-05-18
Location : Vermont

Back to top Go down

Re: Quiz Thread

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 8 of 10 Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum