The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

General Adivce for a new guy

5 posters

Go down

General Adivce for a new guy  Empty General Adivce for a new guy

Post by DallasCowboy Wed 07 Dec 2011, 7:27 am

Hi all

I'm new to golf and golf forums not 100% sure how they work. This place was suggested to me by your very own maverick having played a club v club friendly against him a month or 2 back.

I played a couple of times with my Mom and Dad they both love to play as much as they can. Though generally not together they have their own circles of friends who play and have been keen for a long while for me to take up the game properly.

I've always been a decent sportsman mainly with an Oval american football or with a hockey stick playing ice hockey, so picking up new sports like golf is normally simple for me.

I was bought a set of Nike VR cavity backed irons as a birthday present and my local pay and play course offered a deal of £53 a month for unlimited golf and gym membership so thought why not. Since I played 2 rounds there in july I found I actually really enjoyed it and paid the £100 yearly club membership that means I can get a handicap and play competitions.

I started out with a 19handicap in august and now am down to 10.0, more through luck and virtue my hand eye coordination is pretty being as I'm a full time tennis coach.

Now I'm finding it hard to develop more, I want to get down to category one and win my club championship next year. Am I running before I can walk and are there things I should focus on to get better.

Having seen how a good player hits it and scores I'm mighty jealous and want to get better at a game I initially had no real love for.

What is the best gps device to get as I don't have one
Are there any new technologies that could help
I've booked lessons with my pro to try and help, being a tennis coach I know the importance of working with someone can really help