The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

I hate modern 460cc drivers!!

+7
barragan
1GrumpyGolfer
McLaren
mystiroakey
oldshanker
super_realist
navyblueshorts
11 posters

Go down

I hate modern 460cc drivers!! Empty I hate modern 460cc drivers!!

Post by navyblueshorts Mon 16 Jul 2012, 4:54 pm

As Tommy Cooper might have said, "I want to tell you a story."...

I used to be a good driver of the ball with the old fashioned drivers. Had a Maruman persimmon which was awesome and I could work it both ways at will although my stock shot has always been a draw.
Of course, proper persimmon was gradually replaced with the newer fangled "Pittsburgh" variety to be followed by titanium and all Hell broke loose. Not satisfied with modern metals in their initial incarnations, the OEMs messed about with the COR and volume of the typical driver clubhead such that we now address the ball with a veritable balloon-on-a-stick. Shafts have got longer and longer such that a 46" driver isn't unusual these days.
Has this been a good thing? Well, it might be for you lot out there but my driving is routinely rubbish these days. Doesn't matter what 460cc monstrosity I use, it's pants. Hit the ball flush with them but it's either a nice, high block/fade or I over-compensate and it's a nice pull/draw or hook. Tried a lot of shafts/heads and it's still pants.
Oddly enough, I still hit every other club in the bag well and my current 3-wood (a strong 13° TM w/ an ~90g shaft that I put in there a couple of weeks ago after the latest driver got left in the garage) is a bomb that I hit with a nice push/draw and goes only maybe 20 yards less than one of my (rare!) decent shots with a driver. Not only is the 3-wood a bomb but the reduced roll out on tee shots means even if I do push/pull one a bit, it sits down well and doesn't often reach the deep cabbage.