The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Cricket Consultancy project and dissertation (University Masters work)

3 posters

Go down

Cricket Consultancy project and dissertation (University Masters work) Empty Cricket Consultancy project and dissertation (University Masters work)

Post by hodge Fri 27 Sep 2013, 9:25 pm

I'm doing my Masters in Sports Coaching this year at uni and I want to base my consultancy project and my dissertation around cricket and was just wondering if anyone could give me some opinions on the stuff I'm thinking of doing.

My consultancy projetct, I don't actually have to implement it but I think I have to go around talking to people and organising as if I were so at the end of the project I can give my recommendations to whoever incase they do want to do it.

My idea is based around talent identification for those not in the county junior sides. I don't know what other counties are like but I have seen in Somerset players looked over because they don't go to the right school or the right club, or sides pick the same players once at a certain age group not accounting for those who either start the sport late or develop later. So my idea (to hopefully be based in Lancashire as its the county where i'm doing my masters) would be to try and put forward a development initiative by starting a representative side. I have a few ways I could go about it, sides can put players forward towards trials if deemed to be good enough and trials held for the side. Or if enough players are put forward Lancashire could be split into 4, 5 or 6 teams based on region where the players would represent their area.

The idea is to give players a platform who may have been overlooked, and if the county were in on it have the end side (via trial or selection from representative games) play against the county 2nd XI as well as other county 2nd XI's, minor county sides or University MCCU sides.