The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by Pedro147 on Wed 25 Jan 2017, 8:51 am

Big fight coming up this weekend so how do people see it going. Santa Cruz saying in the build up that he's going to box more but I don't see this happening and that he'll revert to type once the bell rings. I cannot see him outboxing Frampton despite the size advantage as he technically just not as good. Hopefully we see a fight similar to the first which was a cracker.

I'm going to go for a Frampton win on all cards this time, winning by 3 or 4 rounds. 116-112.

Pedro147

Posts : 885
Join date : 2011-03-05

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by TopHat24/7 on Wed 25 Jan 2017, 9:52 am

I smell controversy....

That said, there's some serious love for Framps that side of the pond. And the money men will see him as much more marketable than LSC. Some maybe it'll be ok.....

As you, I can't see LSC changing his spots. Whereas Framps will have that extra experience knowledge and confidence of how to box him. Going for 115-113 Jackal.

TopHat24/7

Posts : 17008
Join date : 2011-07-01
Age : 36
Location : London

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by Rodney on Wed 25 Jan 2017, 9:56 am

I picked Santa Cruz last time and was over the moon I got it wrong, however I'm picking him again to win this late - I really hope I'm wrong and Carl pulls off another super performance.

Cheers, Rodders
Rodney
Rodney

Posts : 1974
Join date : 2011-02-15
Age : 42
Location : Thirsk

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by marty2086 on Wed 25 Jan 2017, 10:00 am

I can see Frampton winning it late on with a knockdown, he will box a bit smarter and pick his shots which will tell late on and he will pick out a few big punches to put him down

marty2086

Posts : 11208
Join date : 2011-05-13
Age : 34
Location : Belfast

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by TRUSSMAN66 on Wed 25 Jan 2017, 10:48 am

I don't see Frampo stopping him.........Like BJS he'll win it as comfortably and as risk free as he can.....Clever fighter.

Don't see what more LSC can do.......Frampton W12..

TRUSSMAN66

Posts : 39286
Join date : 2011-02-02

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by marty2086 on Wed 25 Jan 2017, 11:51 am

Watching the clips of Frampton he seems to have a bit more snap in his punches so that's why I think he'll get a stoppage, work the body and take the wind out of LSC and it'll take its toll

marty2086

Posts : 11208
Join date : 2011-05-13
Age : 34
Location : Belfast

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by catchweight on Wed 25 Jan 2017, 9:51 pm

I liked Frampton at the price being offered in the first one. This time around I like Santa Cruz at the price being offered. I think hes is more likely to get the nod in the close rounds. And I think there will be quite a few close rounds.

catchweight

Posts : 4305
Join date : 2013-09-18

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by BoxingFan88 on Thu 26 Jan 2017, 8:04 am

So many people think its cut and dry

For me its a 50-50

I thought the first fight was really close, I don't expect anything different in this one

Going with Frampton, more because I want him to win than anything else

BoxingFan88

Posts : 3759
Join date : 2011-02-20

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by mobilemaster8 on Thu 26 Jan 2017, 8:54 am

Very close fight the first one, had Carl winning by a couple at most. Boxed fantastically well.

I can also smell controversy here.

If its as close as before, standby for LSC to pick up a split nod thus creating a trilogy.

Wouldnt be surprised at all.

I hope now that Carl has adjusted to the weight, along with better preps, he can outbox LSC even more, show some more power and cruise to a UD.

You just dont know with this one, it literally could go either way, but man its great for the fans.

Really looking forward to it.

mobilemaster8

Posts : 4302
Join date : 2012-05-10
Age : 34
Location : Stoke on Trent

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by BoxingFan88 on Thu 26 Jan 2017, 9:16 am

Its a superb night of boxing

Mikey vs Zlaticanin
Selby vs Barros
Frampton vs Cruz II

On the other card

Vargas vs Berchelt
Miura vs Roman

2017 has really kicked off in style

BoxingFan88

Posts : 3759
Join date : 2011-02-20

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by AdamT on Thu 26 Jan 2017, 10:47 am

Either a late LSC stoppage,or close points win for Frampton. I think the latter.

AdamT

Posts : 6651
Join date : 2014-03-27

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by TopHat24/7 on Thu 26 Jan 2017, 11:05 am

BoxingFan88 wrote:Its a superb night of boxing

Mikey vs Zlaticanin
Selby vs Barros
Frampton vs Cruz II

On the other card

Vargas vs Berchelt
Miura vs Roman

2017 has really kicked off in style

Who's covering it all?

TopHat24/7

Posts : 17008
Join date : 2011-07-01
Age : 36
Location : London

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by Dylan1979 on Thu 26 Jan 2017, 12:04 pm

Should be a great fight, really want Carl to win.

Just found out who the officials will be on the night....JEEEEZ!!!!!

The Haymon Death Squad will be in full effect!!


Dylan1979

Posts : 224
Join date : 2016-11-23

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by BoxingFan88 on Thu 26 Jan 2017, 12:42 pm

TopHat24/7 wrote:
BoxingFan88 wrote:Its a superb night of boxing

Mikey vs Zlaticanin
Selby vs Barros
Frampton vs Cruz II

On the other card

Vargas vs Berchelt
Miura vs Roman

2017 has really kicked off in style

Who's covering it all?

Sky
Mikey vs Zlaticanin
Selby vs Barros
Frampton vs Cruz II

Boxnation
Vargas vs Berchelt
Miura vs Roman

BoxingFan88

Posts : 3759
Join date : 2011-02-20

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by Herman Jaeger on Thu 26 Jan 2017, 12:43 pm

Big money showdown with Lee Selby in an outdoor arena in Ireland on the line here for Carl

I don't think Santa Cruz Selby would be difficult to make either

Herman Jaeger

Posts : 3241
Join date : 2011-11-10

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by mobilemaster8 on Thu 26 Jan 2017, 1:03 pm

It's amazing how this fight is on regular sky yet people are force to watch Haye vs Bellew on PPV . How does that work.

mobilemaster8

Posts : 4302
Join date : 2012-05-10
Age : 34
Location : Stoke on Trent

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by Derbymanc on Thu 26 Jan 2017, 1:05 pm

Have you not heard MM, Haye/Bellew is THE grudge fight since the beginning of time, never before seen since David and Goliath stepped into the ring all them years ago

Derbymanc

Posts : 3871
Join date : 2013-10-14
Location : Manchester

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by lfc91 on Thu 26 Jan 2017, 1:24 pm

Couldn't believe it when i saw this was on sky. Huge fight between 2 world class operators with a great undercard (also full of world class operators).

lfc91

Posts : 1490
Join date : 2011-06-01
Age : 29

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by TRUSSMAN66 on Thu 26 Jan 2017, 1:28 pm

mobilemaster8 wrote:It's amazing how this fight is on regular sky yet people are force to watch Haye vs Bellew on PPV . How does that work.

Small fighters aren't as marketable and never have been..

Haye and Bellew are bigger personalities....

Most importantly Hearn knows there are plenty of dunkin donuts about..

Won't buy Haye v Bellew...Not sure I'll buy Wlad either...Mismatch in my opinion.

But these shows aren't aimed at fans like me.

TRUSSMAN66

Posts : 39286
Join date : 2011-02-02

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by milkyboy on Thu 26 Jan 2017, 3:02 pm

Marketability plays a part, certainly, but I think (allowing exceptions like pac may) the current ppv model, is pizza, beer, bag of popcorn with your mates for an evening's entertainment. Vegas o'clock doesn't sit with that.

milkyboy

Posts : 7754
Join date : 2011-05-22

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by AdamT on Thu 26 Jan 2017, 8:23 pm

Kovalev vs Ward was a huge fight, but I've been looking forward to this more. I guess it's because I'm a huge Jackal fan. However I am a fan of Lsc style of fighting too.
The first fight was brilliant and I think this will be equally as good. It's a great clash of styles.

If Santa Cruz does win a close fight, the consolation is, we most likely see it again.

AdamT

Posts : 6651
Join date : 2014-03-27

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by mobilemaster8 on Fri 27 Jan 2017, 9:39 am

TRUSSMAN66 wrote:
mobilemaster8 wrote:It's amazing how this fight is on regular sky yet people are force to watch Haye vs Bellew on PPV . How does that work.

Small fighters aren't as marketable and never have been..

Haye and Bellew are bigger personalities....

Most importantly Hearn knows there are plenty of dunkin donuts about..

Won't buy Haye v Bellew...Not sure I'll buy Wlad either...Mismatch in my opinion.

But these shows aren't aimed at fans like me.

Can see your point Truss.

Wont be watching Haye either - although I'm in Bremen on the 4th for one night so if there is a pub about ill try and watch - defo not paying.

Wont be paying for Wlad either - will probably go somewhere for it have a few and come back.

Seen on Sky this morning its increased to 90.000 a post war record. Blah Blah Blah.

Standard Hearn

mobilemaster8

Posts : 4302
Join date : 2012-05-10
Age : 34
Location : Stoke on Trent

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by TopHat24/7 on Fri 27 Jan 2017, 11:05 am

Worth it just for the look on Carl Froch's face though....

TopHat24/7

Posts : 17008
Join date : 2011-07-01
Age : 36
Location : London

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by mobilemaster8 on Fri 27 Jan 2017, 11:31 am

TopHat24/7 wrote:Worth it just for the look on Carl Froch's face though....

Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

mobilemaster8

Posts : 4302
Join date : 2012-05-10
Age : 34
Location : Stoke on Trent

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by EX7EY on Fri 27 Jan 2017, 12:25 pm

Anybody a rough idea of wat time Frampton and LSC will start? These Vegas shows are alarm setters for me these days!

EX7EY

Posts : 531
Join date : 2013-07-22
Age : 33
Location : Salford

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by mobilemaster8 on Fri 27 Jan 2017, 12:31 pm

No idea mate but can only assume it will be a late one with a time difference of a mammoth 8 hours!!

Like the east coast shows as 5 hours usually means ring walks around 0230-0330 - Vegas fights tend to be more towards the 0430-0500 mark which is a mighty long night if your having a session and have jobs to do Sunday ie. Take the missus out for lunch mad mad

Saying that, i think the Hopkins vs Calzaghe fight started around 20:00 local which would have been around 0400?

mobilemaster8

Posts : 4302
Join date : 2012-05-10
Age : 34
Location : Stoke on Trent

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by mobilemaster8 on Fri 27 Jan 2017, 12:33 pm

EX7EY wrote:Anybody a rough idea of wat time Frampton and LSC will start? These Vegas shows are alarm setters for me these days!

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/boxing/what-time-carl-frampton-vs-9702741

Seems about right - coverage starts on Sky at 01:00 - Main card starts at 0300 on Showtime which will show Garcia then the main.

Both to be in the ring ready to rumble around 0400.

mobilemaster8

Posts : 4302
Join date : 2012-05-10
Age : 34
Location : Stoke on Trent

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by hogey on Fri 27 Jan 2017, 2:23 pm

I am hoping for an absolute classic with 12 rounds of war, however while i think it will be a decent fight i think Frampton will win comfortably either by wide decision or late stoppage. He is slightly better in ever department and even seemed to carry the greater power in the first fight while appearing fairly untroubled by LSC's best shots. Frampton is too good and has a great boxing brain that enables him to make adjustments during a fight that other fighters cant live with.

hogey

Posts : 1366
Join date : 2011-02-24
Location : London

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by mobilemaster8 on Fri 27 Jan 2017, 2:36 pm

hogey wrote:I am hoping for an absolute classic with 12 rounds of war, however while i think it will be a decent fight i think Frampton will win comfortably either by wide decision or late stoppage. He is slightly better in ever department and even seemed to carry the greater power in the first fight while appearing fairly untroubled by LSC's best shots. Frampton is too good and has a great boxing brain that enables him to make adjustments during a fight that other fighters cant live with.

Rewatched his last few fights - LSC was a cracker, watched it live on air and was fantastic.

Also watched the Gonzaelz scrap, great fight - he was a tough cookie - sad to see that he passed away shortly after.

mobilemaster8

Posts : 4302
Join date : 2012-05-10
Age : 34
Location : Stoke on Trent

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by Steffan on Fri 27 Jan 2017, 11:26 pm

Selby fight is off as Barros did not make weight. Disgraceful

Steffan

Posts : 7836
Join date : 2011-02-17
Age : 39

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by Herman Jaeger on Fri 27 Jan 2017, 11:34 pm

That's a shame for Selby what must he be feeling like right now

Still a good card though

Herman Jaeger

Posts : 3241
Join date : 2011-11-10

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by Steffan on Fri 27 Jan 2017, 11:44 pm

He just spoke at the weigh in after Lennon Jnr announced it. Said he felt like crying and sorry for the Welsh contingent that travelled over. Still a good card but I think if a fighter like Baros wastes his opponents, promoters and the fans time then he should have his licence revoked. How can you not get in shape for a world title fight with months of preparation? Disgrace

Steffan

Posts : 7836
Join date : 2011-02-17
Age : 39

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by BoxingFan88 on Fri 27 Jan 2017, 11:48 pm

Absolutely devastated

Was the reason the weight? I didn't think they even weighed in

How far off was he?

Couldn't they go ahead at all they said license restrictions?

Man Selby needs to get back with hearn he is so inactive now

Clearly this isn't his fault but it's gonna be another 6 months...

BoxingFan88

Posts : 3759
Join date : 2011-02-20

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by TRUSSMAN66 on Sat 28 Jan 2017, 8:18 am

Steffan wrote:He just spoke at the weigh in after Lennon Jnr announced it. Said he felt like crying and sorry for the Welsh contingent that travelled over. Still a good card but I think if a fighter like Baros wastes his opponents, promoters and the fans time then he should have his licence revoked. How can you not get in shape for a world title fight with months of preparation? Disgrace

This post would be all well and good...Except as we all know... If Selby hadn't of made weight you'd be pointing at Fielding and Smith v Ward and moaning about double standards should anybody be talking about revoking Selby's licence..

The guy messed up...History shows it happens..Whilst I'm sorry for Team Selby and for the imposition of his followers...I'm not disappointed as I find him a bit of a stinker..

TRUSSMAN66

Posts : 39286
Join date : 2011-02-02

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by mobilemaster8 on Sat 28 Jan 2017, 9:07 am

BoxingFan88 wrote:Absolutely devastated

Was the reason the weight? I didn't think they even weighed in

How far off was he?

Couldn't they go ahead at all they said license restrictions?

Man Selby needs to get back with hearn he is so inactive now

Clearly this isn't his fault but it's gonna be another 6 months...

Blood tests results were inconclusive and he wasnt cleared to fight according to reports

mobilemaster8

Posts : 4302
Join date : 2012-05-10
Age : 34
Location : Stoke on Trent

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by Steffan on Sat 28 Jan 2017, 11:31 am

TRUSSMAN66 wrote:Whilst I'm sorry for Team Selby and for the imposition of his followers...I'm not disappointed as I find him a bit of a stinker..
That's the main thing sorted then

I'd be the one disappointed if you were a Yank without a "Me...Me...Me" attitude thumbsup

Steffan

Posts : 7836
Join date : 2011-02-17
Age : 39

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by Jermaine2015 on Sat 28 Jan 2017, 2:20 pm

Barros has been diagnosed as having hepatitis. Selby probably dodged a bullet

Jermaine2015

Posts : 1274
Join date : 2015-01-30
Location : Germany

Back to top Go down

Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview Empty Re: Frampton vs Santa Cruz Preview

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum