The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Rules question

Go down

Rules question Empty Rules question

Post by I'm never wrong on Thu 18 Jul 2019, 11:47 am

This question comes about after Casey and McIlroy both hit their balls into the deep rough. In their cases the bald were found and they played on. Let’s imagine a slightly different scenario. Pro player at a tournament hits a ball off line into the deep rough. He plays a provisional which is a fantastic shot which he would prefer to play. Now I believe if his fellow competitors find his ball before he plays his provisional then he has to play the original ball. But can anyone else officially “find” his ball to make him play it? Marshall’s or spectators? Do they count?

I'm never wrong

Posts : 2344
Join date : 2011-05-26
Location : Just up the road, and turn right at the lights.

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by ralphjohn69 on Thu 18 Jul 2019, 2:56 pm

Yes, if anyone finds it then they have to play the 1st ball.

ralphjohn69

Posts : 225
Join date : 2011-06-07
Age : 41
Location : Uphall, West Lothian, Scotland

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by JAS on Thu 18 Jul 2019, 3:25 pm

I have on at least a couple of occasions said to my playing partners, don’t look!! Also, not sure if it’s still a thing but if you bang one into the waist high then reload without saying provisional ball, then that is the ball in play. How does that work if somebody does find the original??

JAS

Posts : 3859
Join date : 2011-01-27
Age : 57
Location : Swindon

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by I'm never wrong on Thu 18 Jul 2019, 3:38 pm

I would agree with you JAS, that if you don't say "Provisional" or words to that effect, then your next strike will be with the ball in play. If someone then goes and finds your "first" ball, then all you have done, to my mind, is found it. It's not the ball in play. I once read a book explaining the rules by Tom Watson. He mentioned a scenario of your fellow competitor running up the hole after you have hit a provisional, trying to find your first ball before your provisional became the ball in play, just because it was in such a bad position. Who could get to the ball the fastest. Don't know whether that is still current.

I'm never wrong

Posts : 2344
Join date : 2011-05-26
Location : Just up the road, and turn right at the lights.

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by ralphjohn69 on Thu 18 Jul 2019, 4:15 pm

JAS wrote:I have on at least a couple of occasions said to my playing partners, don’t look!! Also, not sure if it’s still a thing but if you bang one into the waist high then reload without saying provisional ball, then that is the ball in play. How does that work if somebody does find the original??

This is still correct, if you don't declare that it's a provisional ball then it automatically becomes the ball in play once hit, whether the original ball is found or not.

ralphjohn69

Posts : 225
Join date : 2011-06-07
Age : 41
Location : Uphall, West Lothian, Scotland

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by ralphjohn69 on Thu 18 Jul 2019, 4:18 pm

I'm never wrong wrote:I would agree with you JAS, that if you don't say "Provisional" or words to that effect, then your next strike will be with the ball in play. If someone then goes and finds your "first" ball, then all you have done, to my mind, is found it. It's not the ball in play. I once read a book explaining the rules by Tom Watson. He mentioned a scenario of your fellow competitor running up the hole after you have hit a provisional, trying to find your first ball before your provisional became the ball in play, just because it was in such a bad position. Who could get to the ball the fastest. Don't know whether that is still current.

That is still current, it especially applies in Matchplay if your opponent's provisional ball is in a good position and, if found, proceeding with the original ball will be disadvantageous for them. There's an argument about "protecting the rest of the field" in Strokeplay but it is more of an issue in a direct Matchplay game.

ralphjohn69

Posts : 225
Join date : 2011-06-07
Age : 41
Location : Uphall, West Lothian, Scotland

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by dynamark on Thu 18 Jul 2019, 8:00 pm

I think everyone correct here .the word provisional must be uttered no good saying'ill play another'and then finding the first one

dynamark

Posts : 1705
Join date : 2011-03-10

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by Roller_Coaster on Fri 19 Jul 2019, 10:09 am


You don't HAVE to use the word provisional. But it is clearest way of announcing it.

18.3b/2


Statements That “Clearly Indicate” That a Provisional Ball Is Being Played


When playing a provisional ball, it is best if the player uses the word "provisional" in his or her announcement. However, other statements that make it clear that the player's intent is to play a provisional ball are acceptable.

Examples of announcements that clearly indicate the player is playing a provisional ball include:
•"I'm playing a ball under Rule 18.3".
•"I'm going to play another just in case".

Examples of announcements that do not clearly indicate the player is playing a provisional ball and mean that the player would be putting a ball into play under stroke and distance include:
•"I'm going to re-load".
•"I'm going to play another".


Roller_Coaster

Posts : 2572
Join date : 2012-06-27

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by dynamark on Fri 19 Jul 2019, 3:57 pm

So please clarify if your are off the green putting from the very short fringe can you remove a piece of debris on your line on the green .Only asking cos Lowry just did that on 11th

dynamark

Posts : 1705
Join date : 2011-03-10

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by ralphjohn69 on Fri 19 Jul 2019, 4:11 pm

dynamark wrote:So please clarify if your are off the green putting from the very short fringe can you remove a piece of debris on your line on the green .Only asking cos Lowry just did that on 11th

Yes

ralphjohn69

Posts : 225
Join date : 2011-06-07
Age : 41
Location : Uphall, West Lothian, Scotland

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by George1507 on Mon 29 Jul 2019, 5:30 pm

Not if the "debris" is sand.

George1507

Posts : 1310
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by super_realist on Mon 29 Jul 2019, 7:16 pm

George1507 wrote:Not if the "debris" is sand.

Lowry thought "debris" was a French cheese.

super_realist

Posts : 25469
Join date : 2011-01-29
Location : Edinburgh

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by kwinigolfer on Mon 29 Jul 2019, 7:33 pm

super_realist wrote:
George1507 wrote:Not if the "debris" is sand.

Lowry thought "debris" was a French cheese.

Reminds me of the old (OK, ancient) Smirnoff ads - I've a feeling George remembers . . . . . . . . (but then I thought a 1507 was a computer).

kwinigolfer

Posts : 26474
Join date : 2011-05-18
Location : Vermont

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by dynamark on Wed 31 Jul 2019, 1:04 pm

My eyes were not good enough to tell if it was sand.

dynamark

Posts : 1705
Join date : 2011-03-10

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by Eyetoldyouso on Fri 02 Aug 2019, 3:51 pm

George1507 wrote:Not if the "debris" is sand.

Don't think that's right see Rule 13.1c

Improvements Allowed on Putting Green

"During a round ....no matter whether your ball is on or off the putting green:

Sand and loose soil on the putting green....may be removed without penalty."

Eyetoldyouso

Posts : 668
Join date : 2011-01-28
Age : 66
Location : Manchester

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by George1507 on Sat 03 Aug 2019, 10:53 am

ralphjohn69 wrote:
dynamark wrote:So please clarify if your are off the green putting from the very short fringe can you remove a piece of debris on your line on the green .Only asking cos Lowry just did that on 11th

Yes

The question asked about moving debris when OFF the green. Generally it's ok to move stuff when off the green provided it isn't growing, or attached, or sand. When you aren't on the green, sand on grass is an integral part of the course and you can't move it. You see golfers moving sand off their line when off the green every day, especially between bunkers and green.

George1507

Posts : 1310
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by dynamark on Sun 04 Aug 2019, 10:51 am

The rule is don't mess with George on the rules !!
Best thing to adopt is play it as is until you hit the putting green then you can think about the rules.

dynamark

Posts : 1705
Join date : 2011-03-10

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by ralphjohn69 on Sun 04 Aug 2019, 11:13 pm

George1507 wrote:
ralphjohn69 wrote:
dynamark wrote:So please clarify if your are off the green putting from the very short fringe can you remove a piece of debris on your line on the green .Only asking cos Lowry just did that on 11th

Yes

The question asked about moving debris when OFF the green. Generally it's ok to move stuff when off the green provided it isn't growing, or attached, or sand. When you aren't on the green, sand on grass is an integral part of the course and you can't move it. You see golfers moving sand off their line when off the green every day, especially between bunkers and green.

No it didn't, the question was very clearly "if your are OFF the green putting from the very short fringe can you remove a piece of debris on your line ON the green", which you obviously can. You're right on the rule when off the green and the sand is also off the green but that's not what the question asked.

ralphjohn69

Posts : 225
Join date : 2011-06-07
Age : 41
Location : Uphall, West Lothian, Scotland

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by George1507 on Tue 06 Aug 2019, 8:21 am

Apologies, didn't read it carefully enough.

George1507

Posts : 1310
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by dynamark on Thu 12 Sep 2019, 5:31 pm

Played seniors open last week and usual indiscretions.
No one else named their ball before tee off.
I hit one into the long grass on 11 lhip hurting and after a brief look I declared it lost and walked on.Other 2 kept looking and shouted out they had found it.I explained 3 times it was a lost ball but they kept asking me to play it.Partner hit his in a ditch on same hole dog leg left and proceeded to go back on a line that suited his next shot(not in line with the flag).Final hole player puts one into the edge of a pond yellow stakes left side finds it in the hazard no marking of entry and mutters something about 2 clubs lengths drops back a bit and out to the side giving him a nice view down the fairway.I had words at that point but might as well have been talking to the wall.these guys have been playing 30 years or more former captain.This is an open with £1k price fund incredible.
Final point they all seem to leave the flag in for putts of any length and at least twice the ball was bounced out just lazy it seems.

dynamark

Posts : 1705
Join date : 2011-03-10

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by super_realist on Thu 12 Sep 2019, 7:49 pm

You don't have to name or declare your ball, agree it's good practice but you don't have to.

super_realist

Posts : 25469
Join date : 2011-01-29
Location : Edinburgh

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by Roller_Coaster on Fri 13 Sep 2019, 8:31 am

super_realist wrote:You don't have to name or declare your ball, agree it's good practice but you don't have to.

Super's right. You don't have to name it, as long as you can identify it it's fine. It can help stop potential issues down the line but it's not a requirement.

You can't declare a ball lost. It becomes lost after 3 minutes of looking for it if it remains unfound. You can agree with everyone (ahh, f**k it, let's crack on boys") to proceed without spending 3 minutes, but if they continue to look and find it before the 3 mins is up, it remains the ball in play.

We had a league match a few years ago in foursomes where mate tee'd off on par 3, put it in cabbage so his partner hit a provisional and canned it for a 3 (off the tee). Cue the opposition pair spending 4mins 45 (pre rules change) to find the original ball, which they did and so that was the ball in play.

Sounds like it wasn't a fun day though Dyna Crying or Very sad

Roller_Coaster

Posts : 2572
Join date : 2012-06-27

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by super_realist on Fri 13 Sep 2019, 8:39 am

The first ball becomes "lost" if you play a provisional without declaring it a provisional.

super_realist

Posts : 25469
Join date : 2011-01-29
Location : Edinburgh

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by McLaren on Fri 13 Sep 2019, 9:48 am

Dyna picard

For christ sake you can't declare a ball lost. As super says the only way to take it out of play is hitting another ball without declaring it a provisional.
McLaren
McLaren

Posts : 15330
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by navyblueshorts on Fri 13 Sep 2019, 9:50 am

super_realist wrote:The first ball becomes "lost" if you play a provisional without declaring it a provisional.
I don't think you have to specifically declare it as a 'provisional'. Other words making it obvious it's just that suffice. Safer to say 'provisional' though!
navyblueshorts
navyblueshorts
Moderator
Moderator

Posts : 9329
Join date : 2011-01-27
Location : Off with the pixies...

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by McLaren on Fri 13 Sep 2019, 10:43 am

Navy

You actually have to say "provisional". Dumb but true.
McLaren
McLaren

Posts : 15330
Join date : 2011-01-27

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by Roller_Coaster on Fri 13 Sep 2019, 12:15 pm

McLaren wrote:Navy

You actually have to say "provisional". Dumb but true.

Not true (any more). You have to be clear that it is a provisional but you don't have to use the word provisional.

I think the R&A website says something like

OK - "I'm going to play another just in case"

Not OK - "I'm going to play another"

Roller_Coaster

Posts : 2572
Join date : 2012-06-27

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by Roller_Coaster on Fri 13 Sep 2019, 12:16 pm

Roller_Coaster wrote:
You don't HAVE to use the word provisional. But it is clearest way of announcing it.

18.3b/2


Statements That “Clearly Indicate” That a Provisional Ball Is Being Played


When playing a provisional ball, it is best if the player uses the word "provisional" in his or her announcement. However, other statements that make it clear that the player's intent is to play a provisional ball are acceptable.

Examples of announcements that clearly indicate the player is playing a provisional ball include:
•"I'm playing a ball under Rule 18.3".
•"I'm going to play another just in case".

Examples of announcements that do not clearly indicate the player is playing a provisional ball and mean that the player would be putting a ball into play under stroke and distance include:
•"I'm going to re-load".
•"I'm going to play another".


Thought I'd posted on this in this thread not long ago...

Roller_Coaster

Posts : 2572
Join date : 2012-06-27

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by Roller_Coaster on Fri 13 Sep 2019, 12:18 pm

Roller_Coaster wrote:
McLaren wrote:Navy

You actually have to say "provisional". Dumb but true.

Not true (any more). You have to be clear that it is a provisional but you don't have to use the word provisional.

I think the R&A website says something like

OK - "I'm going to play another just in case"

Not OK - "I'm going to play another"

Sorry Mac - I think I should have included a picard and "for christ sake" [sic] like you did to Dyna...

Roller_Coaster

Posts : 2572
Join date : 2012-06-27

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by navyblueshorts on Fri 13 Sep 2019, 1:17 pm

Roller_Coaster wrote:
McLaren wrote:Navy

You actually have to say "provisional". Dumb but true.

Not true (any more). You have to be clear that it is a provisional but you don't have to use the word provisional.

I think the R&A website says something like

OK - "I'm going to play another just in case"

Not OK - "I'm going to play another"
Indeed. Alas, Mac OK.
navyblueshorts
navyblueshorts
Moderator
Moderator

Posts : 9329
Join date : 2011-01-27
Location : Off with the pixies...

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by dynamark on Fri 13 Sep 2019, 5:31 pm

Hell dogs are out.We had spent a bit of time looking for my ball but I wasn't watching the clock to be fair.Ill have to swat up on that .
the ball ID declaration thing is just good practice particularly if someone plays a provisional.
I once played a comp where everyone got a sleeve of ultra 1 from the sponsor before the off -it was chaos.
I cannot see me playing again without another surgery sadly.

dynamark

Posts : 1705
Join date : 2011-03-10

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by LadyPutt on Sat 14 Sep 2019, 1:48 pm

dynamark wrote:Hell dogs are out.We had spent a bit of time looking for my ball but I wasn't watching the clock to be fair.Ill have to swat up on that .
the ball ID declaration thing is just good practice particularly if someone plays a provisional.
I once played a comp where everyone got a sleeve of ultra 1 from the sponsor before the off -it was chaos.
I cannot see me playing again without another surgery sadly.
Sorry to hear that Dyna. I’ve not played other than a few holes since the start of June due to a tendon injury in my left leg which the physio has told me will just take time to heal. I did manage to play a recent awayday with my club because they had buggies (our course doesn’t have them) and I’m going with a group of ladies to Arran at the end of the month where again I have a buggy booked. The annoying thing is the injury doesn’t affect my swing, it’s just the walking I can’t do furious
LadyPutt
LadyPutt

Posts : 1059
Join date : 2011-01-27
Age : 69
Location : Fife, Scotland

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by dynamark on Sat 14 Sep 2019, 6:46 pm

Hi LP .I can walk,sit,drive reasonably well but after a few holes there is something about the weight transfer to the backswing that hits a very very painful spot ,You know its coming and not a lot you can do about it .Chipping and putting fine but any full shot is played on one leg!
Got to make a decision in next few weeks.Not like having a tooth out though
Back to the rules I hadn't played a provisional so I just walked on (better ball comp)

dynamark

Posts : 1705
Join date : 2011-03-10

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by LadyPutt on Thu 26 Sep 2019, 4:44 pm

dynamark wrote:Hi LP .I can walk,sit,drive  reasonably well but after a few holes there is something about the weight transfer to the backswing that hits a very very  painful spot ,You know its coming and not a lot you can do about it .Chipping and putting fine but any full shot is played on one leg!
Got to make a decision in next few weeks.Not like having a tooth out though
Back to the rules I hadn't played a provisional so I just walked on (better ball comp)
Just back from another physio session and she finally confirmed what I suspected all along - a slight tear in the tendon, but I can’t for the life of me remember doing it! Still, it’s getting better and nowhere near as pa8nful to walk on  OK
LadyPutt
LadyPutt

Posts : 1059
Join date : 2011-01-27
Age : 69
Location : Fife, Scotland

Back to top Go down

Rules question Empty Re: Rules question

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum