The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Improving footwork in the ring

+6
Group Cpt Lionel Mandrake
TRUSSMAN66
88Chris05
manos de piedra
ShahenshahG
OasisBFC
10 posters

Go down

Improving footwork in the ring Empty Improving footwork in the ring

Post by OasisBFC Tue 29 Jan 2013, 12:08 pm

Hi boys and girls.
I've been boxing for around 4 months and getting better and love it.

Sparring is by far my favourite part but I find I'm being hit too often as my feet feel heavy. I can see the shots coming but by the time i've moved i've already been tagged.

Do any of you boxers have advice for being lighter on my feet and able to get out the way of attacks? I'm not gonna be bouncing around the ring too much, im 6ft 2 and over 16 stone. I can definitely feel my Christmas diet have an impact so losing a bit of weight is a good start…
Fitness is also key too.

I know other areas of defence would help, but this is specifically aimed at improving my footwork and being lighter/quicker around the ring.

Gracias amigos.

OasisBFC

Back to top Go down

Improving footwork in the ring Empty Re: Improving footwork in the ring

Post by ShahenshahG Tue 29 Jan 2013, 12:18 pm

put on a weight vest and skip + run. Watch how light you feel then. 5 kg to start off

ShahenshahG

http://www.wwwdotcom.com

Back to top Go down

Post by manos de piedra Tue 29 Jan 2013, 12:18 pm

Rope jumping and shadow boxing I would recommend. When running also try running in heavier boots as opposed to light runners.

manos de piedra

Back to top Go down

Post by 88Chris05 Tue 29 Jan 2013, 12:24 pm

I know you say that you don't think you can see yourself bouncing around the ring too much, but I honestly think that using the skipping rope as a massive part of your training does help, as long as it's done properly (ie, feet not leaving the ground by more than an inch or so and plenty of revolutions - no playground stuff!).