The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Racquets of The Top 100

+4
JuliusHMarx
bogbrush
laverfan
lydian
8 posters

Go down

The Racquets of The Top 100 Empty The Racquets of The Top 100

Post by Guest Tue Mar 12, 2013 9:30 am

Thought I would do some research on the racquet selection of the current top 100 and my findings are:

Wilson - 27
Head - 22
Babolat - 21
Prince - 8
Yonnex - 8
Dunlop - 7
Technifibre - 4
Donnay - 2
Bobsworth - 1

Wilson seem to be the most favoured by the pro's. I guess because Wilson offer racquet head sizes in the 90in and 100in range which I think is part the reason they are favoured. Head and Babolat racquets tend to be over 100in which is the safer racquet.

What can the other brands do to catch up?

Back to top Go down

The Racquets of The Top 100 Empty Re: The Racquets of The Top 100

Post by lydian Tue Mar 12, 2013 11:17 am

Nice research LK. As you know I'm a tech man Wink

I think there is another angle to this also. Many pros learnt to play the game before Babolat was a big name - they will have learnt to play with Wilson's in the main which used to have huge % share when you look at where the game has come from - huge numbers of slams won by ProStaff's and its derivatives/spin-offs.

However, if you look at kids playing the game now they're nearly all using Babolats - and coaches are massively contracted to them. Its world domination by Babolat on that side of things. So I expect the Babolat pro-use % to change markedly over the next 5-10 years. Infact, 21% for Babolat now is pretty good considering 10 years ago they would have been low single digit %.

Additionally, out of the current %'s I bet the Wilson users are on average older pros than the Babolat users.

What is interesting is how Prince is on the way down from the 90s. Yonnex are very nice racquets indeed and should be doing better but their exposure/marketing is poor.