The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Yet Moore On The Scrum...

+11
SecretFly
Scarpia
englandglory4ever
king_carlos
Rugby Fan
Geordie
RubyGuby
ChequeredJersey
Effervescing Elephant
dummy_half
offload
15 posters

Go down

Yet Moore On The Scrum... Empty Yet Moore On The Scrum...

Post by offload Thu 28 Mar 2013, 12:31 pm

Any one with an interest in the scrumaging farce that is hurting our game so much should take a read of this by Brian Moore. As an ex 9 I have no direct experience of the dark art but I find myself agreeing with prety much all of Brian's comments. This is such a talked about subject that I am at a loss to understand why the IRB is failing to address such a key aspect of the game - it's shameful. The Law's are there to sort this out, they are just not being applied.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/rugby-union/21952652
offload
offload

Back to top Go down

Yet Moore On The Scrum... Empty Re: Yet Moore On The Scrum...

Post by dummy_half Thu 28 Mar 2013, 1:13 pm

Offload

I just hope it doesn't take a really serious injury to a front rower in a high profile game for the IRB to realise that this has become both a mess and dangerous.

dummy_half

Back to top Go down

Post by Effervescing Elephant Thu 28 Mar 2013, 1:19 pm

In an article back in 2011 Paddy O'Brien states that the changes to the scrum which have caused all the issues have reduced serious scrum injuries to zero. I can't imagine how a passive engagement can be worse than the massive hits you get at international level these days. It just seems counter intuitive!

Interview here the date of the article has my 'irony-ometer' going off the scale!
Effervescing Elephant
Effervescing Elephant

Back to top Go down

Post by ChequeredJersey Thu 28 Mar 2013, 1:23 pm