The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Adam Booth is even more of a <insert expletive here> than I first thought.

+7
ONETWOFOREVER
hogey
John Bloody Wayne
AlexHuckerby
Captain Charisma
Strongback
Commander
11 posters

Go down

Adam Booth is even more of a <insert expletive here> than I first thought. Empty Adam Booth is even more of a <insert expletive here> than I first thought.

Post by Commander Thu 28 Mar 2013, 11:45 pm

JEFF POWELL:

Turning up for work yesterday involved hailing a London taxi to the press conference at which David Haye confirmed his comeback to the heavyweight ring.

As far as I was concerned it didn’t last long. No sooner had I arrived than Haye’s trainer-manager Adam Booth ordered me to leave. Never mind that I had been invited. Never mind that I have been covering this hard, old game for going on 40 years. But that’s how this gentleman is capable of behaving.

This was a first for me.

Never been banned before during decades of writing about a lexicon of boxers including Mike Tyson, Lennox Lewis, George Foreman, Ricky Hatton, Oscar De La Hoya, Evander Holyfield, Joe Calzaghe, Julio Cesar Chavez, James Buster Douglas, Sugar Ray Leonard, Chris Eubank, Nigel Benn, Michael Watson, Prince Naseem Hamed, Riddick Bowe and Marco Antonio Barrera.

And, of course, The Greatest of them all ... Muhammad Ali, who did not turn me away from his 70th birthday party in Louisville to which, like yesterday’s little get-together, I was invited.

Now the careers of Floyd Mayweather, Carl Froch, Manny Pacquiao, Amir Khan, the Klitschko brothers, Tyson Fury, Nathan Cleverly, Andre Ward, David Price and James DeGale are among works in progress. Oh... and David Haye.

This is the man who was happy to see me as one of only two national newspaper correspondents who took the trouble to travel to Paris to acclaim his world cruiserweight title victory over Jean-Mark Mormeck.