The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Thinking of getting a Membership

4 posters

Go down

Thinking of getting a Membership Empty Thinking of getting a Membership

Post by cabcaz Sun 26 May 2013, 5:59 pm

Hi

Been a lurker here for a year. I am still new to golf but thinking of taking up a memberhsip with a club.

I just wanted to know what the key benefits are aside from saving costs.

Can members invite friends to their club? I only ask this as I have a few friends who live outside the UK and thinking of inviting them over for a round of golf

Thanks

cabcaz

Back to top Go down

Thinking of getting a Membership Empty Re: Thinking of getting a Membership

Post by barragan Sun 26 May 2013, 6:17 pm

Hi cabcaz
Welcome to the forum
Yes, most clubs offer discounted green fees to members guests.
Personally, the main benefits are social and competitive. It can sometimes be difficult to integrate yourself into a club if joining on your own. When joining my current club I set up an email list with guys I played in club matches against and in medals with. This has grown in 4 years to a group of 40+ guys which is great for arranging bounce games. I also run an order of merit in the summer based on club comp results, and a 4bbb league in the winter - last year we had 13 teams involved. It's a fair bit of work to keep these going but it's great to have such a thriving, inclusive, competitive and social group to be a part of - breaking the clique pattern you usually find thriving strongest at private clubs.
Keeping a handicap through joining a club is also a plus. Not only can you enter club comps, but there are great open comps at other clubs which you can play at seriously reduced cost - perhaps £10-20.

barragan

Back to top Go down

Post by ScottieD18 Mon 27 May 2013, 11:54 am

Similar points to barragan.

Benefits
1 - You can get a handicap.
2 - You can play medals and mark a card.