The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What Changed In Your Game, That Made The Difference?

+8
twoeightnine
Nay
JAS
McLaren
MontysMerkin
Roller_Coaster
navyblueshorts
Doc
12 posters

Go down

What Changed In Your Game, That Made The Difference? Empty What Changed In Your Game, That Made The Difference?

Post by Doc Fri 13 Dec 2013, 11:55 am

I was playing with a16 handicap when I stopped playing and took after the other birdies. I started playing again around 10-years ago and wobbled between 16.5 and 18.3 right up until 18-months ago. I made the decision to see the pro and take a full course of lessons, hoping that he wasn't going to break me and make me up again from scratch. Lessons went really well, and although the weather was garbage through that winter and even the summer, my confidence was high. This season I started playing consistently well and by the summer got chopped from 18 to 13.9. Even though I've not been able to play much recently, and the conditions are totally different from that good summer, I'm still playing to handicap.

I played with a supplier of mine on Tuesday, who plays off 8 and i beat him in matchplay. We chatted all the way around about something that just clicks and your numbers tumble. Thinking about this I have deduced that it's because I now hit the ball slightly further. Yes the lessons gave me consistency, but feel that the added distance off the tee is the biggy. On many courses of around 6.8k yards and over I was usually playing 3 or 5 wood for my approach, and obviously greens in regulation % wasn't fantastic with woods. Many of those shots (Even in these conditions) is now a 5-iron or higher, and GIR % vastly improved. So think that distance does matter for me.

Doc

Back to top Go down

What Changed In Your Game, That Made The Difference? Empty Re: What Changed In Your Game, That Made The Difference?

Post by navyblueshorts Fri 13 Dec 2013, 1:16 pm