The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Wither Rugby the future of the game

4 posters

Go down

Wither Rugby the future of the game Empty Wither Rugby the future of the game

Post by emack2 Sun 29 May 2011, 6:49 pm

I have been playing [briefly]and watching Rugby for 58 years,what I am talking is not nostalgia,or rose tinted glasses.I have some observations,some questions and the odd answer.In Amateur Days the highlight was the tour,All blacks,Wallabies,Boks,Lions,the last full one by the All Blacks was 1972-3,then we had midi,and mini tours.As a consolation prize we have the RWC.

Laws have changed over the years for good or ill,The Scrum,setting of it,standardization the 3-4-1 formation,the wheel all things of the past.Dribbling rushes,rush stopping,the ruck,lifting in the lineout,the offside laws,goal from a mark,themark,kicking out on the full etc.What was once a winter sport,is now a business,one of the silliest statements is no amateur
could live with todays players.

Think about that,a pair of boots,shirt[not skintight],shorts,jock strap[ and box]scrum cap.gum shield,and a leather ball.These amateurs played 80 minutes,stayed onthe park as long as they could walk when injured.Goal kickers had to contend with a heavy wet ball alot of the time.Yes they played a lot less rugby in a tour year they would play a maximum of 10 tests for the home teams in a 5N.