The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Weight training and Golf

4 posters

Go down

Weight training and Golf Empty Weight training and Golf

Post by The_Phenom Wed 01 Jun 2011, 4:13 pm

Before I went to uni I was a massive golfer and was the only sport I played and committed myself to. During my three years I stopped playing golf and started hitting the weights at the gym and put about two stone on within those 3 years. However I recently started playing golf again and noticed a quite significant loss in flexibilty in my backswing. Now i'm back into golf heavily I have stopped lifting weights and just do cardio at the gym.

Is there any way you can workout with weights and increase muscle mass without losing flexibilty?

The_Phenom

Back to top Go down

Weight training and Golf Empty Re: Weight training and Golf

Post by Fists of Fury Wed 01 Jun 2011, 4:16 pm

Your best bet is high rep/lower weight stuff mate. Lean muscle, in other words.

I assume you have been doing bulking work over the last few years then, if it is affecting your flexibility?

Try 3 sets of 12-15 reps or something along those lines on a lighter weight, and mix that in with bodyweight exercises such as pressups, chinups, dips etc.

Fists of Fury
Admin
Admin

http://bloxhamcricket.tumblr.com/

Back to top Go down

Post by The_Phenom Wed 01 Jun 2011, 4:28 pm

Yeah my shoulders and lats have bulked up a lot in the last year and that's why i'm finding it harder to rotate in the swing. I've started to do boxing three times a week so we do lots of circuit training including bodyweight exercises etc. Hopefully I can drop some weight and maintain my lean muscle whilst loosening up my shoulders. I need to find a good balance of muscle mass and flexibilty.

The_Phenom

Back to top Go down

Post by Fists of Fury Wed 01 Jun 2011, 4:31 pm

Yeah boxing should help a lot.