The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Kill Arman

2 posters

Go down

Kill Arman Empty Kill Arman

Post by talkingpoint Sun 06 Mar 2011, 3:49 pm

Has anyone seen this programme on the extreme sports channel? It's quite a funny series following a Finnish guy called Arman who's a tailor by profession but decides he wants to get in shape and so undergoes the challenge of fighting 10 martial arts experts in their different styles around the world! Needless to say he loses every time as he only has 4 days to train before each fight, but it is entertaining. It's not purely comical either, the guy looks into the martial art's history as well as the history of the country of its origin. Anyway two of the styles Arman participates in are Wing Chun Kung Fu and Taekwondo, one with the emphasis on punching, the other kicking. Now both martial arts allow striking of both kinds (hands and feet) but each have a different emphasis. The Wing Chun style employs rapid fire punches to the head from a centre point rather than using hooking shots, keeping their elbows tight against their chests. In practice it looked rather scrappy and not particularly flashy but it certainly seems effective. However your legs are both more powerful and longer than your arms and Taekwondo experts train their legs/feet to move as fast as boxers hands/arms. So which do you think would have the advantage in a clash of styles?