The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Sugar Ray Robinson / Jake LaMotta

+6
jimdig
manos de piedra
Rowley
The Galveston Giant
Scottrf
huw
10 posters

Go down

Sugar Ray Robinson / Jake LaMotta Empty Sugar Ray Robinson / Jake LaMotta

Post by huw Fri 25 Nov 2011, 10:25 am

Have recently been reading a lot recently on the boxers from the 30's / 40's / 50's.

Now one thing that really stands out is that when the mafia got involved in boxing you really had to get 'connected' to get a title shot.

This brings me to two boxers that did have connections, Sugar Ray Robinson and Jake LaMotta.

In the Charley Burley book there are mentions that the 'fixes' usually worked in three fight deals. I think in Charleys case he was told to lose the first then he could do what he wanted in the second and third.

As I'm fairly new to the history side I was just wondering whether anyone else thought the LaMotta win over Sugar Ray was a fix - on paper it seems Robinson was too good technically even with LaMotta's weight advantage.

huw

Back to top Go down

Sugar Ray Robinson / Jake LaMotta Empty Re: Sugar Ray Robinson / Jake LaMotta

Post by Scottrf Fri 25 Nov 2011, 10:27 am

Possible I guess, but I don't know of any evidence to support it, so don't consider it one.

Scottrf

Back to top Go down

Post by The Galveston Giant Fri 25 Nov 2011, 10:27 am

Personally i don't think it was but be interesting to see other opinions.
The Galveston Giant
The Galveston Giant

Back to top Go down

Post by Rowley Fri 25 Nov 2011, 10:32 am

Am not convinced myself and have not really seen any evidence to support it so would have to say not. Think there is a risk to over estimate the extent of fixes back in those days, not saying thet did not happen but would be doing fighters a disservice if we put an asterix against every terrific performance because shocks happened then as they do now.