The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

British Basketball - The State of Play

3 posters

Go down

British Basketball - The State of Play Empty British Basketball - The State of Play

Post by JRW11Evea Wed 11 Apr - 20:28

Basketball in Britain – The State of Play
I am no expert in Basketball. In fact I know next to nothing about the sport. Sure I know get a grasp of the basic rules, I’ve held a basketball before, ‘shot some hoops’ so to speak. Aside from that limited experience, I couldn’t tell you who the NBA’s MVP will be this year, I haven’t got a clue and this will become apparent the more you read.

One thing I do know about however, is sports fans, especially in my native region, the North-East of England. Whatever the team, if we have adopted it as our own, there are no half measures, our bias blinds us from any 50-50 decisions, the ref is never on our side and players like Stephane Sessegnon and Hatem Ben Arfa are of the same ability as Lionel Messi. It’s a wonder Barcelona haven’t snapped them up. One must assume that no-one in their right mind could choose to play anywhere but Sunderland or Newcastle right?

One place where this passion is in full flow is Northumbria Sports Central, the home of the Newcastle Eagles. The Eagles are the most successful Basketball team in British history and whilst Great Britain is not exactly a hotbed of basketball, the Eagles’ silverware haul of 15 trophies, with a chance to add to that this Friday, in the last decade is certainly impressive. The Eagles’ have used a combination of a clever pricing system and the fact that the majority of the BBL’s fixtures are played on Fridays so as to avoid competing with the local football teams, to ensure they have a regular following, and can stay afloat.