The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

"This is Gwyn, he played for Llanelli..."

5 posters

Go down

"This is Gwyn, he played for Llanelli..." Empty "This is Gwyn, he played for Llanelli..."

Post by Glas a du Tue 23 Oct 2012, 4:35 pm

And so, work throws up a random excuse for a 606v2 article.

I am a solicitor in a small South Wales town. There are however 9 Rugby Clubs within a couple of miles of my office.

They are wonderful organisations, but terrible at organisation. Hence, I get to see them quite often.

I won't bore you with legal details, but I needed a bit of club history from one of them. The usual thing, "we must have the deeds to this clubhouse somewhere!"

So, a club elder is brought to me. Names are changed to protect the innocent, and my practicing certificate.

The Sec: "This is Gwyn, he played for Llanelli in his day..."

And Gwyn was off. Sec regretted the terms of his introduction almost immediately as the well worn narrative trajectory was plotted. This was a story recited with relish and with no detail overlooked.

I imagined myself as a small Greek child at Homer's knee as he warmed into the Iliad. Unlike Sec, this was my first hearing and I was fascinated.

Gwyn started playing for the village when he was 16. He worked his way up through the hierarchy of the West Wales Division, work taking him to play for the Carmarthen Quins. Then in the early 60's came the call.

"Would you like to play for Llanelli?"

Gwyn, yes, would very much indeed like to play for Llanelli. And so, using storytelling techniques handed down through generations, the scene is set, for Gwyn's debut, for Llanelli.

"It was Christmas Day. That shows you how Rugby has changed. We were full of Turkey and sprouts. That was our training. The team talk went like this..."

Gwyn pauses and then starts to pound his hand with a clenched fist.