The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

My Election Campaign

+13
ShahenshahG
Lowlandbrit
seanmichaels
aja424
TopHat24/7
TRUSSMAN66
Marco_Marky - Stuffington
Dolphin Ziggler
Nakatomi Plaza
Duty281
Rowley
Derbymanc
wheelchair1991
17 posters

Page 1 of 4 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Go down

My Election Campaign  Empty My Election Campaign

Post by wheelchair1991 Thu 19 Mar 2015, 4:58 pm

Earlier I mentioned on here that I was standing as a candidate for the Labour Party in the upcoming local elections happening on May 7th. I have been part of the Labour Party since I was 17 and this is my first time standing as a candidate. It has been an interesting experience so far. Being a disabled(I have Cerebral Palsy) candidate adds an extra challenge for me to overcome in terms of getting to some places which are not wheelchair friendly.

Some of you on here mentioned that you would like me to start a thread about my experiences and the situation as I have found it while campaigning. In my Area we have a Tory MP(elected in 2010) and a Tory controlled City and County Council. So far the issues which have come up most while canvassing the electorate are:

1. Immigration(UKIP links to this heavily)
2. economy(Labour's perceived weakness)
3. NHS
4. Lots of Ex Tory voters have said to me they will not vote for the current Tory Party as they have gone too far left with things such as gay marriage and letting too many foreigners in.
5. people in the area can never get hold of their City Councillor as he spends most of his time in the USA.

I am out canvassing again this Saturday and will continue to update you on how things are progressing!!

wheelchair1991

Back to top Go down

My Election Campaign  Empty Re: My Election Campaign

Post by Guest Thu 19 Mar 2015, 5:13 pm

My campaign manifesto (the high/lowlights)

"Angel of Death" to replace "God Save the Queen" as the National anthem.