The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

JPR Gone - RIP

+3
king_carlos
TAFKA The Oracle
BigGee
7 posters

Go down

JPR Gone - RIP Empty JPR Gone - RIP

Post by BigGee Mon 08 Jan 2024, 9:01 pm

Jez, this one really caught me on the hop, the man seemed to be indestructible as a player and acheived so much as well outside of rugby.

One of my favourite players ever, when I started playing rugby in the 1970s, I wanted to be a full back.

RIP JPR and thanks for the memories

BigGee
Admin
Admin

Pal Joey, No 7&1/2 and mikey_dragon like this post

Back to top Go down

JPR Gone - RIP Empty Re: JPR Gone - RIP

Post by TAFKA The Oracle Mon 08 Jan 2024, 9:06 pm

That’s a big shock. Sad  I thought he was still practicing medicine so not sure if he was ill or if this was sudden.

One of the greats.

TAFKA The Oracle

Back to top Go down

Post by king_carlos Mon 08 Jan 2024, 10:03 pm

TAFKA The Oracle wrote:That’s a big shock. Sad  I thought he was still practicing medicine so not sure if he was ill or if this was sudden.

One of the greats.
A short battle with bacterial meningitis according to the Williams family.

Such a sad loss. All sports have many 'great players'. JPR fit into the category of simply being one of the greatest to ever play his sport though. A true titan.

Oddly, I have several friends in cricket who came across him through the Lord's Taverners. An absolute gentleman by all accounts.

RIP JPR, what a legacy you leave behind.

king_carlos

Back to top Go down

Post by BigGee Tue 09 Jan 2024, 9:06 am

In the mid 1980s when I was at college in London, one of the lecturers was teaching with his wrist in a plaster cast.

At the end of the lecture, I asked him how he broke it and he told me it was playing rugby.