The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Is fighting with an injury brave or just plain stupid??

+7
seanmichaels
Union Cane
milkyboy
hampo17
paperbag_puncher
TRUSSMAN66
BoxingFan88
11 posters

Go down

Is fighting with an injury brave or just plain stupid?? Empty Is fighting with an injury brave or just plain stupid??

Post by BoxingFan88 Sun 8 Sep - 22:42

Evening chaps,

After hearing that Ricky Burns Fractured or Broke (depending on sources) his jaw, should the corner have pulled him out? Arthur Abraham was lauded for fighting on with a broken jaw in the first fight with Miranda, but the long term effects are far worse and in boxing, the most important thing is your health.

This got me thinking, why didn't the corner pull Ricky Burns out last night? A broken jaw must give you unbelievable pain, but to top that off you are getting caught with punches for 10 rounds as well.

I'm no doctor but that could (and may) have caused Ricky Burns some serious long term damage. A lot of people in the boxing community blasted Ortiz for retiring when Lopez broke his jaw, but in my opinion he was totally correct to do so. There is no point in risking your career for one fight. I think I can actually remember Ricky Burns complaining about something in between rounds, so the corner clearly knew.

Should the corner have pulled him out? In my opinion they should have.

BoxingFan88

Back to top Go down

Is fighting with an injury brave or just plain stupid?? Empty Re: Is fighting with an injury brave or just plain stupid??

Post by TRUSSMAN66 Sun 8 Sep - 22:45

Sounds like BS to me..........

No they shouldn't have pulled him out...Because he was garbage the last time he fought too...

They'll have to look at the wbo rankings to see who he can beat..

TRUSSMAN66

Back to top Go down

Is fighting with an injury brave or just plain stupid?? Empty Re: Is fighting with an injury brave or just plain stupid??