The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Eyes on the ball.

+4
graeme
drive4show
puligny
wolfrunna
8 posters

Go down

Eyes on the ball. Empty Eyes on the ball.

Post by wolfrunna Tue Jun 07, 2011 5:41 pm

I read somewhere regarding the best tip you've ever been given to play this game.
A couple of posters said about looking at the ball throughout the swing.Not until i read that did i ever give that one fundamental thing a thought.
I started playing again after a 20 year lay off with mixed results,more bad than good.
I had thought a few times that i hadn't seen the ball hit,but hadn't given it too much thought,until i read the thread on a message board.
Now,the one thought i take into a shot is to watch a particular spot the ball intently and,try to stay down until the impetus brings me up.
OK,I know that this is all basic stuff to those of you that play golf well,but i've wondered how many other have been afflicted with this,without realising
it.
Look up or blink at the point of impact,i think i did both of them.I don't even know when or why this crept into my game,but looking at the ball is something i've always taken for granted.
Its such a simple thing,but itd done wonders for me.

wolfrunna

Back to top Go down

Eyes on the ball. Empty Re: Eyes on the ball.

Post by puligny Tue Jun 07, 2011 5:50 pm

I've always understood it to be a golden rule of all ball sports - "keep your eye on the ball." Admittedly because in many sports the ball is often moving - but you would never take a penalty without looking at the ball?
In golf it is so easy to lift your head to see where the ball has gone - particularly so when starting the game because you don't want to lose it!