The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What was/is your style of boxing?

+19
DavidBlunkettsuppercut
6oldenbhoy
TRUSSMAN66
Imperial Ghosty
Young_Towzer
Sugar Boy Sweetie
Small Time
Super D Boon
Scottrf
Sir. badgerhands
Michaels, Sean
HumanWindmill
Mind the windows Tino.
SugarRayRussell (PBK)
eddyfightfan
coxy0001
The genius of PBF
Rowley
ONETWOFOREVER
23 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

What was/is your style of boxing? Empty What was/is your style of boxing?

Post by ONETWOFOREVER Wed 20 Jul 2011, 12:39 pm

Anyone who has boxed knows that fighting style is important. When I started learning the game I was taught the basics as is the norm. I mastered the stance and learned how to throw punches in the right way ie sitting down on my punches, twisting my hips, blah blah blah, but eventually I NATURALLY formed a style that seemed to suit me physically. I never gave any thought to it, it just happened but my personal style was the direct opposite of what I was taught and yet it was effective.

My style evolved in time with my left hand held low, right hand cocked, and adopting the counter puncher mentality. I had quick reflexes which explains why my left hand was held low but my defence was reliant on me slipping punches rather then blocking them. Now my trainers were always frustrated with me as I would hear them shouting "hands up, hands up" but I boxed in a way that was comfortable to me. I see fighters like Froch doing the same thing. I doubt very much that Froch was taught to fight like that its just something that develops over time.

I had success with this style and faced guys who were sluggers, stalkers, and one punch heros and was able to deal with these styles quite effectively but ironically I had problems with text book type guys, which is funny to me. Did anyone here develop their own style or did they just stick to basics?

ONETWOFOREVER

Back to top Go down