The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

WWE Network figures

+4
Dr Gregory House MD
Prometheus
Hero
Adam D
8 posters

Go down

WWE Network figures Empty WWE Network figures

Post by Adam D Fri 31 Oct 2014, 10:38 am

I read an article this morning about the number of subscribers for this and was quite shocked.

Being a professional journalist, I have totally not researched these figures but just wanted to see whether you all felt it was a success or not.

Apparently, the worldwide subscribers number at the moment is 731,000.

Note that on set up in the US, 700k subscribed so since the launch in other countries, only a further 31,000 net have joined.

Still, £9.99 x 731k is still $7.3m per month. Is that good enough? How much have they lost in PPV buys?

Adam D
Founder
Founder

http://www.v2journal.com

Back to top Go down

WWE Network figures Empty Re: WWE Network figures

Post by Hero Fri 31 Oct 2014, 11:03 am

Well it'd help if it actually launched in this country, hard to boost the numbers if it's not ruddy available.

Hero
Founder
Founder

Back to top Go down

Post by Prometheus Fri 31 Oct 2014, 11:06 am

I've not time to delve through the figures right now.  Maybe someone else will do that and save me the time, maybe I'll find time to do it.  Because it does genuinely interest me.  I am firmly in the position that to me as a consumer the Network is a balanced trade-off that I am wary of.  On the + side it represents value for money in consuming PPVs and catching up with archive material.  But I do worry that there is a cheapening of the PPV product from a large ticket item to a 9.99 item.

Anyway, back to your question.  
- I think the word back around launch was that the network needed around a million subscribers to break even.  So, we seem some good distance short of that.