The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

PGA Tour: The Pineapple Express?: Notes from the Ballwasher

+9
McLaren
Be_the_ball
pedro
super_realist
1GrumpyGolfer
robopz
I'm never wrong
GPB
kwinigolfer
13 posters

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

Go down

PGA Tour: The Pineapple Express?: Notes from the Ballwasher Empty PGA Tour: The Pineapple Express?: Notes from the Ballwasher

Post by kwinigolfer Thu 19 Jan 2017, 3:43 pm

1).I don't know whether it's just a childhood spent in the radio age and listening to the drone of the shipping forecast bringing evocative place names like German Bight and Dogger Bank into our front rooms, but I've always been fascinated by places and weather. Later I graduated to cricket commentators telling us about the Fremantle Doctor, then to Upstate New York when we seemingly spent the winter months (all eight of them) under siege from a series of Alberta Clippers, sure to bring snow and misery but moving through swiftly.

2).Fast forward a few years and the Weather Channel started talking about the Pineapple Express, a moisture-laden weather system originating in the Hawaii area of the Pacific apparently designed specifically to sweep into California and give it a thorough drenching just when it seemed drought and forest fires would destroy it forever. Justin Thomas assumed the role of Pineapple Express last week, becoming the first since Ernie Els 14 years ago to win both the TOC at Kapalua and the Sony Open, the Aloha Slam.

3).So, Is Justin Thomas the next real thing, does he have the right stuff to contend in Majors, to warrant a consistent owgr Top Ten ranking? My jury is still out, but this month's form has been irresistible - he's taking a breather now, not sure when he'll be back, but he'll certainly return with scrutiny and expectations he's never seen before.