The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Will Fury fight again- should he be allowed to?

+10
Derbymanc
AdamT
TRUSSMAN66
hazharrison
Rowley
Mochyn du
Mr Bounce
BoxingFan88
catchweight
horizontalhero
14 posters

Go down

Will Fury fight again- should he be allowed to? Empty Will Fury fight again- should he be allowed to?

Post by horizontalhero Thu 13 Oct 2016, 8:47 pm

Serious question- I have no real knowledge of the brain or mental illness, but I know if you are prone to lung infections, you stay away from dust and smoke, if you have bad knees you avoid running, so if you are prone to mental illness, is participation in a sport which inevitably harms your brain asking for more trouble? if he does return to the ring, is Fury increasing the likeliness that his illness will return or even worsen? Depression seems common in ex boxers, now it could well be coincidental- correlation doesn't always equal causation ,except in the Daily mail obviously, Interested to hear your opinions.

horizontalhero

Back to top Go down

Will Fury fight again- should he be allowed to? Empty Re: Will Fury fight again- should he be allowed to?

Post by catchweight Thu 13 Oct 2016, 8:59 pm

Let the man fight!

catchweight

Back to top Go down

Will Fury fight again- should he be allowed to? Empty Re: Will Fury fight again- should he be allowed to?

Post by BoxingFan88 Thu 13 Oct 2016, 10:55 pm

I really hope it's only a small layoff

But I fear its going to be more serious than that

BoxingFan88

Back to top Go down

Post by Mr Bounce Thu 13 Oct 2016, 11:32 pm

I think it's way too early to start talking about such a thing. Fury's got some big issues to sort, and any talk of him coming back at any point should be shelved until he has had the help he clearly needs.

This will be an ongoing situation for him and will take a lot of hard work to put right. For me it's an "if" rather than "when".

Mr Bounce